2019 Hugo Finalists

Courtesy of File 770 http://file770.com/dublin-2019-announces-hugo-and-retro-hugo-finalists/ here are the 2019 Hugo Finalists. My comments below.

2019 HUGO AWARD FINALISTS

Best Novel

No surprises here but I’m actually only 1/6 for what I’ve read but all of these where on my TBR list. Disappointed that Children of Time didn’t get its second chance at the ballot and I thought Blackfish City would be on the list.

  • The Calculating Stars, by Mary Robinette Kowal (Tor)
  • Record of a Spaceborn Few, by Becky Chambers (Hodder & Stoughton / Harper Voyager)
  • Revenant Gun, by Yoon Ha Lee (Solaris)
  • Space Opera, by Catherynne M. Valente (Saga)
  • Spinning Silver, by Naomi Novik (Del Rey / Macmillan)
  • Trail of Lightning, by Rebecca Roanhorse (Saga)

Best Novella

Murderbot leads the list with Tor.com once again dominating Novella space. However, Aliette de Bodard has a strong entry.

  • Artificial Condition, by Martha Wells (Tor.com publishing)
  • Beneath the Sugar Sky, by Seanan McGuire (Tor.com publishing)
  • Binti: The Night Masquerade, by Nnedi Okorafor (Tor.com publishing)
  • The Black God’s Drums, by P. Djèlí Clark (Tor.com publishing)
  • Gods, Monsters, and the Lucky Peach, by Kelly Robson (Tor.com publishing)
  • The Tea Master and the Detective, by Aliette de Bodard (Subterranean Press / JABberwocky Literary Agency)

Best Novelette

Only two overlaps with the recent Nebula finalists (Bolander and Connolly) but these were the two strongest of the Nebula Novelettes.

  • “If at First You Don’t Succeed, Try, Try Again,” by Zen Cho (B&N Sci-Fi and Fantasy Blog, 29 November 2018)
  • “The Last Banquet of Temporal Confections,” by Tina Connolly (Tor.com, 11 July 2018)
  • “Nine Last Days on Planet Earth,” by Daryl Gregory (Tor.com, 19 September 2018)
  • The Only Harmless Great Thing, by Brooke Bolander (Tor.com publishing)
  • “The Thing About Ghost Stories,” by Naomi Kritzer (Uncanny Magazine 25, November-December 2018)
  • “When We Were Starless,” by Simone Heller (Clarkesworld 145, October 2018)

Best Short Story

A strong set of short stories. I’m surprised that I haven’t read the T. Kingfisher one. Glad to see STET there and along with The Secret Lives… Fireside has two very strong contenders in the list.

  • “The Court Magician,” by Sarah Pinsker (Lightspeed, January 2018)
  • “The Rose MacGregor Drinking and Admiration Society,” by T. Kingfisher (Uncanny Magazine 25, November-December 2018)
  • “The Secret Lives of the Nine Negro Teeth of George Washington,” by P. Djèlí Clark (Fireside Magazine, February 2018)
  • “STET,” by Sarah Gailey (Fireside Magazine, October 2018)
  • “The Tale of the Three Beautiful Raptor Sisters, and the Prince Who Was Made of Meat,” by Brooke Bolander (Uncanny Magazine 23, July-August 2018)
  • “A Witch’s Guide to Escape: A Practical Compendium of Portal Fantasies,” by Alix E. Harrow (Apex Magazine, February 2018)

Best Series

Wow! I may actually vote in this category this year!

  • The Centenal Cycle, by Malka Older (Tor)
  • The Laundry Files, by Charles Stross (most recently Tor/Orbit)
  • Machineries of Empire, by Yoon Ha Lee (Solaris)
  • The October Daye Series, by Seanan McGuire (most recently DAW)
  • The Universe of Xuya, by Aliette de Bodard (most recently Subterranean Press)
  • Wayfarers, by Becky Chambers (Hodder & Stoughton / Harper Voyager)

Best Related Work

An interesting set of nominees. Astounding and An Informal History… are obvious contenders. Two finalists that are things rather than books: Archive of Our Own as an entity and the website of Mexicanx Initiative.

  • Archive of Our Own, a project of the Organization for Transformative Works
  • Astounding: John W. Campbell, Isaac Asimov, Robert A. Heinlein, L. Ron Hubbard, and the Golden Age of Science Fiction, by Alec Nevala-Lee (Dey Street Books)
  • The Hobbit Duology (documentary in three parts), written and edited by Lindsay Ellis and Angelina Meehan (YouTube)
  • An Informal History of the Hugos: A Personal Look Back at the Hugo Awards, 1953-2000, by Jo Walton (Tor)
  • http://www.mexicanxinitiative.com: The Mexicanx Initiative Experience at Worldcon 76 (Julia Rios, Libia Brenda, Pablo Defendini, John Picacio)
  • Ursula K. Le Guin: Conversations on Writing, by Ursula K. Le Guin with David Naimon (Tin House Books)

Best Graphic Story

I haven’t looked at Abbott or On a Sunbeam. Monstress is the finalist to beat after two strong years.

  • Abbott, written by Saladin Ahmed, art by Sami Kivelä, colours by Jason Wordie, letters by Jim Campbell (BOOM! Studios)
  • Black Panther: Long Live the King, written by Nnedi Okorafor and Aaron Covington, art by André Lima Araújo, Mario Del Pennino and Tana Ford (Marvel)
  • Monstress, Volume 3: Haven, written by Marjorie Liu, art by Sana Takeda (Image Comics)
  • On a Sunbeam, by Tillie Walden (First Second)
  • Paper Girls, Volume 4, written by Brian K. Vaughan, art by Cliff Chiang, colours by Matt Wilson, letters by Jared K. Fletcher (Image Comics)
  • Saga, Volume 9, written by Brian K. Vaughan, art by Fiona Staples (Image Comics)

Best Dramatic Presentation, Long Form

I’m glad Sorry to Bother You made the list given its limited distribution. Three superhero films may seem to many and as much as I enjoyed Infinity War, it’s the only finalist that looks redundant.

  • Annihilation, directed and written for the screen by Alex Garland, based on the novel by Jeff VanderMeer (Paramount Pictures / Skydance)
  • Avengers: Infinity War, screenplay by Christopher Markus and Stephen McFeely, directed by Anthony Russo and Joe Russo (Marvel Studios)
  • Black Panther, written by Ryan Coogler and Joe Robert Cole, directed by Ryan Coogler (Marvel Studios)
  • A Quiet Place, screenplay by Scott Beck, John Krasinski and Bryan Woods, directed by John Krasinski (Platinum Dunes / Sunday Night)
  • Sorry to Bother You, written and directed by Boots Riley (Annapurna Pictures)
  • Spider-Man: Into the Spider-Verse, screenplay by Phil Lord and Rodney Rothman, directed by Bob Persichetti, Peter Ramsey and Rodney Rothman (Sony)

Best Dramatic Presentation, Short Form

Last year’s Doctor Who wasn’t always well loved but Rosa and Demons of the Punjab are good contenders. Two Good Place episodes again? I’d have been happy with Jeremy Bearimy which eponymously added to fandom’s language by replacing ‘timey wimey’ as a way of discussing SF time travel plots. I thought Star Trek Discovery would get a nod. Nice to see Dirty Computer as a finalist. Lots of good SF out there right now and maybe the category does need an ‘only one episode per series’ rule.

  • The Expanse: “Abaddon’s Gate,” written by Daniel Abraham, Ty Franck and Naren Shankar, directed by Simon Cellan Jones (Penguin in a Parka / Alcon Entertainment)
  • Doctor Who: “Demons of the Punjab,” written by Vinay Patel, directed by Jamie Childs (BBC)
  • Dirty Computer, written by Janelle Monáe, directed by Andrew Donoho and Chuck Lightning (Wondaland Arts Society / Bad Boy Records / Atlantic Records)
  • The Good Place: “Janet(s),” written by Josh Siegal & Dylan Morgan, directed by Morgan Sackett (NBC)
  • The Good Place: “Jeremy Bearimy,” written by Megan Amram, directed by Trent O’Donnell (NBC)
  • Doctor Who: “Rosa,” written by Malorie Blackman and Chris Chibnall, directed by Mark Tonderai (BBC)

Best Professional Editor, Short Form

No surprises 🙂 Gardner Dozois would be a strong contender in any year and will be hard to beat posthumously.

  • Neil Clarke
  • Gardner Dozois
  • Lee Harris
  • Julia Rios
  • Lynne M. Thomas and Michael Damian Thomas
  • E. Catherine Tobler

Best Professional Editor, Long Form

Lovely people I am sure but I’ll skip over this one.

  • Sheila E. Gilbert
  • Anne Lesley Groell
  • Beth Meacham
  • Diana Pho
  • Gillian Redfearn
  • Navah Wolfe

Best Professional Artist

Has Charles Vess won before in this category?

  • Galen Dara
  • Jaime Jones
  • Victo Ngai
  • John Picacio
  • Yuko Shimizu
  • Charles Vess

Best Semiprozine

Shimmer’s fans had a bit of a campaign to get the magazine nominated. Fireside is having a good Hugo year so far (as I thought they might).

  • Beneath Ceaseless Skies, editor-in-chief and publisher Scott H. Andrews
  • Fireside Magazine, edited by Julia Rios, managing editor Elsa Sjunneson-Henry, social coordinator Meg Frank, special features editor Tanya DePass, founding editor Brian White, publisher and art director Pablo Defendini
  • FIYAH Magazine of Black Speculative Fiction, executive editors Troy L. Wiggins and DaVaun Sanders, editors L.D. Lewis, Brandon O’Brien, Kaleb Russell, Danny Lore, and Brent Lambert
  • Shimmer, publisher Beth Wodzinski, senior editor E. Catherine Tobler
  • Strange Horizons, edited by Jane Crowley, Kate Dollarhyde, Vanessa Rose Phin, Vajra Chandrasekera, Romie Stott, Maureen Kincaid Speller, and the Strange Horizons Staff
  • Uncanny Magazine, publishers/editors-in-chief Lynne M. Thomas and Michael Damian Thomas, managing editor Michi Trota, podcast producers Erika Ensign and Steven Schapansky, Disabled People Destroy Science Fiction Special Issue editors-in-chief Elsa Sjunneson-Henry and Dominik Parisien

Best Fanzine

No surprises. Galactic Journey may have an edge given its novel approach to articles.

  • Galactic Journey, founder Gideon Marcus, editor Janice Marcus
  • Journey Planet, edited by Team Journey Planet
  • Lady Business, editors Ira, Jodie, KJ, Renay & Susan
  • nerds of a feather, flock together, editors Joe Sherry, Vance Kotrla and The G
  • Quick Sip Reviews, editor Charles Payseur
  • Rocket Stack Rank, editors Greg Hullender and Eric Wong

Best Fancast

I’m just not much a podcast person but lots of people I like in this list nonetheless.

  • Be the Serpent, presented by Alexandra Rowland, Freya Marske and Jennifer Mace
  • The Coode Street Podcast, presented by Jonathan Strahan and Gary K. Wolfe
  • Fangirl Happy Hour, hosted by Ana Grilo and Renay Williams
  • Galactic Suburbia, hosted by Alisa Krasnostein, Alexandra Pierce, and Tansy Rayner Roberts, produced by Andrew Finch
  • Our Opinions Are Correct, hosted by Annalee Newitz and Charlie Jane Anders
  • The Skiffy and Fanty Show, produced by Jen Zink and Shaun Duke, hosted by the Skiffy and Fanty Crew

Best Fan Writer

A nice set of nominees but I’m a bit disappointed that many of the people I nominated aren’t there. I think Cora Buhlert should have been a finalist.

  • Foz Meadows
  • James Davis Nicoll
  • Charles Payseur
  • Elsa Sjunneson-Henry
  • Alasdair Stuart
  • Bogi Takács

Best Fan Artist

OK – not much to say on these finalists.

  • Sara Felix
  • Grace P. Fong
  • Meg Frank
  • Ariela Housman
  • Likhain (Mia Sereno)
  • Spring Schoenhuth

Best Art Book

When the category was announced several of these works were suggested as possibilities. The Books of Earthsea is a marginal example (it’s mainly text) but a strong contender. Dungeons & Dragons Art & Arcana has been a front runner since the category was announced.

  • The Books of Earthsea: The Complete Illustrated Edition, illustrated by Charles Vess, written by Ursula K. Le Guin (Saga Press /Gollancz)
  • Daydreamer’s Journey: The Art of Julie Dillon, by Julie Dillon (self-published)
  • Dungeons & Dragons Art & Arcana: A Visual History, by Michael Witwer, Kyle Newman, Jon Peterson, Sam Witwer (Ten Speed Press)
  • Spectrum 25: The Best in Contemporary Fantastic Art, ed. John Fleskes (Flesk Publications)
  • Spider-Man: Into the Spider-Verse – The Art of the Movie, by Ramin Zahed (Titan Books)
  • Tolkien: Maker of Middle-earth, ed. Catherine McIlwaine (Bodleian Library)

John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer

Mainly 2nd year eligible nominees. Jeannette Ng possibly a front runner but this is always a hard category to judge.

  • Katherine Arden (2nd year of eligibility)
  • S.A. Chakraborty (2nd year of eligibility)
  • R.F. Kuang (1st year of eligibility)
  • Jeannette Ng (2nd year of eligibility)
  • Vina Jie-Min Prasad (2nd year of eligibility)
  • Rivers Solomon (2nd year of eligibility)

Lodestar Award for Best Young Adult Book

I’ve heard and read about each of these but I haven’t read any of them.

  • The Belles, by Dhonielle Clayton (Freeform / Gollancz)
  • Children of Blood and Bone, by Tomi Adeyemi (Henry Holt / Macmillan Children’s Books)
  • The Cruel Prince, by Holly Black (Little, Brown / Hot Key Books)
  • Dread Nation, by Justina Ireland (Balzer + Bray)
  • The Invasion, by Peadar O’Guilin (David Fickling Books / Scholastic)
  • Tess of the Road, by Rachel Hartman (Random House / Penguin Teen)

41 responses to “2019 Hugo Finalists”

  1. I was hopeful for Children of Time and also Foundryside in novel, but it’s a strong list so hard to complain. I haven’t read the Roanhorse but as last year’s Campbell winner I’m assuming it’s good.

    The Red Wombat story is very funny. I read it after I’d pretty much decided my list and it was too hard to decide what to drop.

    Fan Writer – nice to see JND back in there, he’s had a good year. He was the only person I nominated to make the list. Although two others I nommed can claim some glory – Cora as she contributed to Galactic Journey last year, ditto Adri Joy at nerds of a feather.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m still scratching my head over the complete absence of Circe. What’s wrong with Circe, dammit?

    And there’s TWO books on the list (one novel, one YA) that I dnfed. And now I have to finish them. Sigh.

    OTOH, my favorite book — Spinning Silver — is also there, and the other two YA books I had on my ballot are there. And I liked 4 of the 6 novel finalists. So there’s that.

    As for Children of Time, I hypothesize that its questionable eligibility sank it. It was on my ballot, but its eligibility was just too murky IMHO.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Well, if Circe is one vote off then that’s my fault because I didn’t quite get round to reading it.

      I think we may have dnf-ed the same YA book, and frankly I don’t feel obliged to finish it.

      Children of Time – yep, I think it suffered from confusion. Even Tchaikovsky was a bit bemused about the eligibility rules for it.

      Like

      • @Mark —

        “Well, if Circe is one vote off then that’s my fault because I didn’t quite get round to reading it.”

        I dunno what the deal is. Nobody talked about it on 770. Only three of my GR friends read it. It hardly seems to exist in the minds of sff fandom. Yet it has **102,000** ratings on GR, and it’s still selling bazillions of copies in the Kindle store (currently #537 in Kindle rankings, higher than The Light Brigade or The Raven Tower or An Empire Called Memory — all released very recently).

        Sigh.

        “I think we may have dnf-ed the same YA book, and frankly I don’t feel obliged to finish it.”

        Mine was Children of Blood and Bone. The prose was soooooo tired, and I couldn’t stand those stupid cat-things that kept reminding me (in adolescence of concept and naming) of the intelligent talking horses in Mercedes Lackey books.

        As for the “novel” book I dnfed, that was the Chambers. Not a bad book, but I got more than halfway through and realized I Just Didn’t Care what happened to any of the characters.

        She seems hit-or-miss for me. I didn’t care for book 1, but I liked book 2 pretty well. Now book 3 I’m completely blasé about.

        “Children of Time – yep, I think it suffered from confusion. Even Tchaikovsky was a bit bemused about the eligibility rules for it.”

        Too bad, really!

        Like

        • I think I only spotted Circe via the GR awards. No real noise about it in genre circles that I heard.

          Children of Blood and Bone was mine as well. Quite liked the setting, realised I was getting some sort of chase-the-plot-token story and decided I really wasn’t in the mood.

          Like

      • @David —

        Yeah, I know, and sometimes I follow that principle. But other times I decide that maybe I’m missing something important about the book if I don’t finish it. So…..

        Like

      • @Connie —

        “Don’t hold back, tell us what you really think of Ms Lackey’s talking horses.”

        Heh.

        You know, I’m a complete hypocrite about this, because I really liked the intelligent talking horses in Katherine Arden’s trilogy. I guess it’s all in how they’re done. ::shrug::

        Like

        • @Connie —

          I have a bit of a love-hate relationship with Lackey. Her writing is bad, so very very bad, in some ways. Yet it still manages to be kind of addictive.

          I’ve only read one of her series (the Herald-Mages), and I don’t have any plans to read more. But I can see the appeal for certain values of teen-girl-angst-lovers.

          Liked by 1 person

      • I was ALL ABOUT Mercedes Lackey in my teen years, and even in my 20s actively enjoyed her and collected her. I started shedding them I think about when I went back to college, which would be late 20s. At 42, I will once in a while pick up one of her books from the library or a friend’s shelf if I really need a fluff read (though usually the Elemental Masters or its spin offs, which are also Romances), and can still find entertainment value in them, but I would likely never pay for another. I still have I think 3 of her better books on my shelf (none of which involve talking horses).

        She’s kind of had the KonMari thing happen before I knew that was what it was called: I thanked her kindly for her service to my growth as a person and her place in my past life, I thought well of her in general, then retired her out of it.

        Like

      • Came into the Herald series with the Vanyel trilogy. It was kind of neat–a gay character with family issues, but even then, I found the writing . . . let’s say not my cuppa, and the characterization . . . lacking. I found Ms. Huff’s Quarters series (a few years later, I know) pretty much a: “oh, that’s how that other lot should have been!’
        I made the mistake of telling people this and found I was in a definite minority.

        Like

  3. “Best Related Work

    An interesting set of nominees. Astounding and An Informal History… are obvious contenders. Two finalists that are things rather than books: Archive of Our Own as an entity and the website of Mexicanx Initiative.”

    It’s actually 3 things that are not books: The Hobbit Duology (documentary in three parts), written and edited by Lindsay Ellis and Angelina Meehan (YouTube) is 3 videos about 30-35 minutes each and is reaaaaaaallly good.

    I don’t want to violate any linking policy, but googling “The Hobbit: A Long-Expected Autopsy” will get you to the first one.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Re: Gardner Dozois. I think your handicapping is off there. While the Locus Award voters still loved him, it’s been a long time since his previous Hugo nomination. And my impression is “Dead men don’t win Hugos.” (And dead women almost never – pace Judy-Lynn Del Rey.) I keep thinking of Bill Rotsler, who won the Best Fan Artist Hugo in 1996 and 1997, died in October 1997, and was never nominated again although his work continued to appear.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Mind you, Shimmer/Tobler seem to have done well out of a “last chance to nominate” sentiment.

      Dozois has two good anthologies for 2018 so maybe this will be the exception. Incidentally, isfdb tells me there’s a final The Very Best of The Best due from Dozois as well.

      Like

    • Dozois will likely be low down on my list despite the fact that I held him in very high regard both as a creative force and as a person. I’m mostly not likely to vote for him because I’d rather give the Hugo to someone who has yet to win it, rather than awarding a 16th trophy to the same person.

      – Olav

      Liked by 1 person

      • Dozois was an unbelievably prolific reader of short fiction, and fantastic at selecting worthy exemplars for his Year’s Best; his commentaries and honorary mentions in those anthologies were, I think, almost as important as the actual stories he included.

        But he’s gone, and so is his wife. Giving him more awards may make us fans feel better, but it doesn’t do anything for him personally. He won the Best Editor Hugo Award 15 times. His legacy in the SFF genre and in fandom is assured.

        Like

  5. I am so ridiculously happy for the Mexicanx gente. The amount of joy unleashed, friendships begun and big-tent welcome extended through that initiative was pure magic.

    Liked by 3 people

  6. I’ve been in something of a reading slump for a long while now so I haven’t read most of the nominees. I do hope that Revenant Gun does well though, it was a phenomenal end to one of my favourite series’. I haven’t read any of the novellas or novellettes, and only “The Secret Lives of…” by P Djeli Clark in short story (which was great, to be fair).

    In Dramatic Long Form, I think Annihilation was too much of a weird mess. A Quiet Place was watchable but I wouldn’t say it was particularly great. Black Panther was a very good example of the sort of movies Marvel makes very well. Ditto Infinity Wars (though it’s overlong and only half a film). I’ve heard amazing things about Spider-Verse but I haven’t had chance to watch it yet. I decided I should try to get a copy of Sorry to Bother You after reading your review but I haven’t had chance to watch it yet.

    In Dramatic Short Form I feel like Dr Who doesn’t really belong there at all this year as no episodes were particularly amazing. I’m not a fan of The Expanse at all and stopped watching a couple of episodes into the first season. I’ve been meaning to watch The Good Place but I haven’t gotten to it yet.

    I haven’t read any of the Campbell nominees but RF Kuang’s first novel is on my TBR currently. I haven’t, and probably won’t, read any of the YA nominees.

    Not that it matters. I’m not voting this year.

    Like

  7. I’ve read only the first volume of Monstress, and liked the art but felt the writing was flat and exposition-heavy. Are volumes 2 and 3 significantly different?

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I’m basically happy. Things I have read are on the lists, and things that are on my mt. TBR.

    I’ve been reading a year or two behind a lot, so I’m not totally surprised I have only half a book of the current nominees actually read. And at that, Roanhorse is *good* (How good compared to the others I don’t know as I have not read). it was the first book after a couple of harder reads – not bad reads, just not ones that come easy and without pauses for thought or reorientation – that I just kind of fell into. I am halfway through and only stopped because I own it, and if I am not disciplined about reading my library books, I don’t ever get them back on time. The library books in question are 4/5 Tor novellas, though, and mostly Seanan McGuire and Martha Wells, so I expect to go through them fast and come out the other side and pounce on Trail of Lightning.

    Of the two eligible Murderbot books, Artificial Condition was the better choice as it’s more standalone; Rogue Protocol is starting to feel the consequences of being part of a series, and depends a little more on knowing the character’s whole history in advance. I haven’t hit Beneath the Sugar Sky yet, but am more enthused about it than I was Down beneath the Sticks and Bones, and the latter has impressed me. de Bodard and Clark are on my “must read soon” list, the other two I hesitate a bit more over, though Robson has a great title-and-cover combo and had some good buzz. I liked the first Binti, but haven’t felt excited/eager to read the rest.

    The Dramatic presentation look like good but not surprising sets. I would be hard pressed to choose between Jeremy Bearimy and Janet(s). I would need to review the Expanse to see which episode that was; the series is good but has a bit of the issue of being one ongoing story, like a soap, and it may lose points from me for needing the series context to make sense. Demons of the Punjab was the ONLY Doctor Who episode this season that felt Hugo-worthy to me, Rosa was a good premise with stumbles. I really have to actually listen to Dirty Computer, I keep saying that and keep not doing it.

    I think I personally liked Into the Spiderverse a bit better than Black Panther, but I suspect the voters will tip the other way. There’s no doubt that Infinity War is outclassed as far as the superheroes go, though. I haven’t seen all the non-superheroes, but… I think those two are still the ones to beat.

    Liked by 1 person

    • lenorarose: I really have to actually listen to Dirty Computer, I keep saying that and keep not doing it.

      I highly recommend watching rather than just listening — it’s the video component of the visual album which makes it so very SFF. The story itself is not hugely original — it’s got its roots in 1984 and other “approved thought” dystopian classics — but the production values are so very, very good, and the music is good, too.

      Liked by 2 people

    • Sorry To Bother You wasn’t just the best SF movie of the year, it was the best movie of the year period. It probably won’t win because it’s a little too surreal and too “activist” for a lot of audiences, but I’m thrilled to see it on the ballot. It clearly shows an understanding of the labour movement, of the tensions of picket lines, and of the perils posed by increasing income inequality.

      – Olav

      Like

  9. Nitpick: The Editor awards no longer have ‘Professional’ in their titles. (If they did semiprozine editors wouldn’t qualify.)

    Like

  10. OT, but just under this post I keep seeing an advertisement for the Lord Mayor of London’s Dragon Awards. They look much grander than the other lot.

    Liked by 1 person

Blog at WordPress.com.