Dragon Award Finalists

The Dragon Award finalists have been announced here http://awards.dragoncon.org/2018-ballot/

Overall the match between the actual finalists and my projection list is very low – so that’s interesting. Other things of note:

  • No John C Wright
  • No Larry Correia (I assume he declined for Monster Hunter Seige as he has stated he thinks others should get a shot at the Dragons)
  • No Vox Day ‘Arkhaven Comics’
  • Pretty much no Rabid Puppies in the book categories
  • No ‘Galaxy’s Edge’ – a generally popular series among the wider Puppy/Scrappy sphere.
  • No Jon Del Arroz (Stars Entwined)
  • Works by or associated with Chris Kennedy did well (but not all of them)

A full list later today!

 


4 responses to “Dragon Award Finalists”

  1. Best SF Novel at least has two that I’ve heard of (and one I nominated).
    I watched half of the Best TV shows, and I think I nominated one of them.
    I saw all but one of the Best Movies, including the one I nominated, “Black Panther.”
    It certainly looks as though the Dragons have escaped the Puppies. (When you put it that way, it doesn’t sound very challenging.) 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Looks like Vox and friends got pwned by Chris Kennedy’s book factory, which coincidentally includes many folks who floated around at the edge of the puppy movement. I also find it highly amusing that Chris Kennedy promises message-free fun books and then literally the first title on his website is a book set in Seattle occupied by the Chinese. That may be fun for some people, but it sure as hell isn’t message-free.

    The shortlist is also still full of books which are little known outside the Kindle Unlimited readership and very dominated by white dude authors. Though the Kindle Unlimited book factories seem to have largely pushed out the puppies.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Ah, I can now continue not caring.

    I’ve heard of 3 (really 4) of the best SF novel writers and read one of the books. Go Daniel and Ty.
    MilSF has one overlap with the dreaded Nebulas.
    Only actual Puppy I see there is Hoyt, riding Anderson’s coattails against tough competition.
    Media Tie-In’s got two novels about GURLS IN STAR WARS (I really like this category as a concept).
    I recognize only Mssrs. King pere et fils in Horror; you can’t get more commercial than that.
    Comics are the Big 2 and 2 of the also-biggies; GN is also big-heavy. (Yay Monstress! Paper Girls is also about girls: smart ones, fierce ones, and Very Toxic Masculinity.)
    TV and Movie look VERY GOOD; I’ve seen all but 2 movies myself and liked them a lot. Worthy nominations.
    Games I don’t know nothing about.

    Looks like a big win for big names/companies, from DC, Star Wars, Stephen King, Harry Potter, Warhammer, and Chris Kennedy’s book factory. Kennedy’s outdoing Teddy at the publishing game, for sure.

    Like

  4. Let’s see how Beale responds to this…

    Oh, he’s talking about Voxopedia, and how important it is. And… the tiny handful of editors are back at work, after what appears to be a five day outage. Truly, it is the Wiki of the future.

    Liked by 1 person

Blog at WordPress.com.