Picard Season 3

I’ll avoid spoilers for those who have yet to see the finale. What to say? if you were a fan of The Next Generation then season 3 was aimed at you, particularly if you were feeling nostalgic. The final episode was stupid in a very fun way with some excellent comedic parts, especially for Worf. A reasonable additional final chapter for the TNG crew/cast.

If you haven’t watched any of the Picard series, then I have some good news. You can completely skip Season 2, indeed for plot continuity it actually helps if you skip Season 2 because it only makes some aspects of Season 3 make less sense. “But didn’t the [spoilers] end up [spoliers] in the last episode of Season 2?” I was asking myself and went and rewatched part of the confusing last episode of Season 2 just to clarify. Maybe Q made Season 2 not happen and sure enough…

Season 1 promised a Star Trek series with a more complex story line but then fizzled out into silliness. Season 2 had its moments but made little sense. Season 3 gave up and took the crowd pleasing option of getting the old gang back together and ended up being the most entertaining of the three.

Anyway, lots of pew-pew, woosh, kaboom in space which I appreciate regardless.

,

12 responses to “Picard Season 3”

  1. Yeah, and as much as I appreciated the ***** ****** cameo, watching it made me go “Wait! This makes the whole thing make even less sense!”

    I enjoyed it, but honestly, I enjoyed Season 2 more; Season 3 had too much idiot plotting.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Well, it was better than the misbegotten mess of Season 2, but in some ways that isn’t saying much.

    The more you think about this season’s storyline, the less coherent it gets, and for me nostalgia can go only so far. I mean, didn’t the showrunner Terry Matalas also run season 2? And yet this season swept everything from Season 2 under the rug and/or contradicted it (including a honking big spoiler re: the Borg Queens, and also the finale post-credit scene) to get all the old gang back together. I’m really surprised Patrick Stewart put up with that nonsense.

    Yes, Zen Worf and Raffi were great, and so was Seven. Seven actually had the best character arc of all the characters over the three seasons, including Picard. I was gratified to see Beverly Crusher get a lot to do. But the last scenes of the finale were such a blatant setup for potentially the next Trek show after Discovery winds up next year that it left bit of a bad taste in my mouth.

    My favorite season of Picard is Season 1, and that is a hill I will die on. I’ve already bought Season 1 on Blu-Ray. I’m not going to touch Season 2, and I’m pretty iffy about this season.

    Like

  3. Well, it was better than the misbegotten mess that was season 2, but in some ways that isn’t saying much.

    The more you think about this season’s storyline, the less coherent it gets, and for me nostalgia goes only so far. Wasn’t the showrunner Terry Matalas also heavily involved in Season 2? And yet this season sweeps nearly everything about Season 2 under the rug and/or contradicts it (including a honking big spoiler re: the Borg Queens and the 3 finale’s post-credit scene). I’m surprised Patrick Stewart went along with that nonsense.

    Yes, Zen Worf and Raffi were great, and so was Seven. Seven actually had the best character arc of all the characters, including Picard. I’m glad Beverly Crusher had a substantial role. But I hated them writing out Laris, and the last few scenes of the finale was such a blatant setup for possibly the next Trek series after Discovery winds up next year that it left a bit of a bad taste in my mouth.

    My favorite season of Picard is Season 1, and that is a hill I will die on. I’ve already bought Season 1 in Blu-Ray. I won’t touch Season 2, and I’m pretty iffy about this season.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Season 1 was quite decent, if they wouldnt have made the stakes a bit lower and evil twin sister a bit more realistic, it really would have been better regarded I think.

      Liked by 1 person

    • I was a bit disappointed that they moved completely away from the darker side that were seasons 1 and 2 to what is essentially TNG Redux in season 3. BUT… Matalas is obviously a massive fan, and the amount of fan service in this last season was truly delightful for a hardcore fan: not just the entire TNG main cast, but also LaForge’s kickass daughters! Moriarty! Ro Laren! Tuvok! Elizabeth Shelby! Alice Krige as the Borg Queen! “Anton” Chekov (in a tribute to Anton Yelchin)! Q!

      And of course I hated that asshole Shaw — but was so delighted at the character arc they gave him and the way he had of rising to the occasion: “You are going to get us all killed! Why are you doing this?” “Because he’s my son.” <massive sigh and roll of the eyes> “Ahhhh… goddammit. Tactical, full power to forward shields. LaForge, get ready to fly.” The moving way he told the story of Wolf 359, giving insight into why he became the person he is and why he reacts to Picard the way he does. And then at the end of the season, when he dies, he transfers command and calls her “Seven of Nine”, in a show of the respect he had always refused to give her up to that point. (And in his recorded officer evaluation played posthumously, he also called her Seven of Nine.)

      I would have been pissed off about Laris — but 1) they never show any actual romantic moments between Beverly and Jean-Luc, and 2) the framed photo Jack sets up in his room is quite an old one; Crusher’s hair is still bright red with nary a white or grey hair in sight. So I choose to believe that Picard goes back to Laris and the vinyard.

      https://imgur.com/a/vunvz4N

      Liked by 1 person

    • Also, I meant to remark on how utterly cool (and chilling) it was that the opening fanfare and medallion to the season finale were a dark Borg version. I love that they do so many Easter eggs like this.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Much like the last two seasons, the pacing of this season felt like, as if 7 episodes into a planned 12 or 14 episode run, the showrunners got a call saying “sorry – our budget got cut and you only can have 10 episodes.” I know that didn’t in fact occur, so I’m frankly confused as to why the end of each season feels so rushed.

    Secondly, this season did the most annoying thing in the Star Trek universe – redshirting. In episode 10, we had a full-on fleet mutiny and the destruction of a major space station. God knows how many people died, but we don’t even get one minute of screen time to mourn them. What’s worse, this was *planned* so we could set up Jeri Ryan for her new series!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Worf had some of the best moments throughout, I thought. I was annoyed by the explanation of how the Borg managed to pull off the trick they did in Episode 9 – it made zero sense even with my fairly rudimentary understanding of biology. I was also annoyed by the ‘joining Starfleet will solve all your problems’ arc that most of the characters seemed to be on, especially as the three seasons together pointed out some of the flaws in Starfleet. But it certainly pushed certain buttons, and pushed them pretty well.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Reminiscent of when young criminals and bad seeds were given the choice of going to jail or joining the Army, to “straighten them out”. Sure, it worked sometimes, but it often meant a guy came back with the same bad impulses, but now in better shape and with gun training.

      My dad haaaated getting those guys in his unit, even after they’d been through drill sergeants. They continued to screw up. Also, judges tended to apply this extra to PoC who didn’t speak or read/write English, so you can imagine how they didn’t obey because they couldn’t understand! The White boys were the worst, though.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Although the promotoion sheme in Starfleet always was weird, favoring mavericks like Worf over actual compentent people like O Brian (Or Geordi)

        Liked by 1 person

        • I know! O’Brien and Geordi should have been way up there in the ranks, though O’Brien wouldn’t have been happy anywhere than aboard a starship or starbase.

          Like

Blog at WordPress.com.