The Mandalorian Season 3 Episode 6

I’m not reviewing The Mandalorian. It’s an entertaining series in its own episodic way but part of its attraction is that it doesn’t have a lot to say about anything. Season 3 is getting some criticism as being a bit aimless but the show had always seemed that way to me.

Having said that I really enjoyed the most recent episode which I suspect I may be an exception. Now if you’ve seen it you may think that’s because it has lots of robots in it and I’ll confess that I do like robots. However, that’s not what I liked about it. Nor was it the celebrity casting, although Jack Black, Lizzo and Christopher Lloyd were a fun addition.

What I liked about it was that it had the feel of a 1980s 2000AD comic story. I don’t mean any specific one but more the general approach. Social satire, comedy, science-fiction and violence would play out inconsistently and the stories would often work in pop-culture references in a way that, if you updated it to today, is comparable to having Lizzo being the democratically elected queen of a happy little planet. I could almost imagine the whole thing storyboarded by the late Carlos Ezquerra.

Does this show know where it is going? I’m not sure. It seemed to have a bit more direction last week but the narrative is as easily distracted as Grogu and that’s just how the show is. I think people tend to remember the finales of the previous seasons more than middle episodes and recall a show that had a much tighter plot.


8 responses to “The Mandalorian Season 3 Episode 6”

  1. Last night’s episode was directed by Bryce Dallas Howard. She also directed the Mandalorian episode in “The Book of Boba Fett.” She always seems to produce the best Mandalorian episodes.

    I’m also surprised at how big a part Bo-Katan Kryze is playing in this season.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I suspect that Bo-Katan has taken over some of the role that was supposed to be Cara Dune’s, only that Gina Carrano had to be written out.

      And yes, The Mandalorian has always been a meandering show that doesn’t really come together until the season finale.

      I also enjoyed this episode. It was basically a buddy cop show featuring Din Djarin and Bo-Katan. And Plaisir was certainly one of the more interesting worlds we’ve visited so far.Though personally, the world reminded me partly of Logan’s Run (the sets and the hedonistic society) and partly of a 1970s or 1980s Doctor Who episode with a higher budget.

      Liked by 1 person

    • In case you haven’t seen the making-of/behind-the-scenes pieces, they’re pretty enjoyable and give the impression that a lot of people working on the show were having a ball – Howard seemed particularly into it.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Ahem, Lizzo is not the queen of the planet. She is the Duchess, who stepped down as ruler but was then elected as head of state. Which is very much in keeping with the Star Wars universe’s weird mix of hereditary rulers and democracy.

    I’m not really sure what they were trying to do with Christopher Lloyd though. It feels like the part was written for somebody else of lesser star stature and then they had the opportunity to bring him in.

    This season isn’t meandering but it is very uneven and kind of sloppy in the writing. But it is a lot of fun to watch Grogou pick up devoted baby-sitters about the galaxy. I have spoken.

    Liked by 1 person

Blog at WordPress.com.