Hugo 22 BDP-Long: Dune

Or ⊃⋃⋂∈ if you prefer.

It took me a long time to see this, especially as it was a film I was eager to see on the big screen. Those plans failed and I finally watched a streaming version of it on a small telly. I did make use of a public holiday to get an uninterrupted watch.

This is tricky to review. I know the book very well and re-read it relatively recently. The film is about as faithful an adaptation as you could make without the story grinding to a halt visually. Special effects have advanced that the epic scale of the story is easy to convey visually but there is no getting around that there is a lot of info that needs dumping. The wheels within wheels plans of the Harkonnen, Emperor and Bene Gesserit are given just enough detail to make sense with more emphasis given on the nature of Arrakis and the Fremen.

The biggest and unavoidable loss is the interior thoughts of key characters. The book spends a lot of time in the heads of Jessica, Paul and others. The film often retains key dialogue but without an internal explanation. For, example the point where Jessica accidentally uses the term “maker” to describe a sandworm to the Fremen house-keeper Shadat Mapes is retained but obviously the film doesn’t have a way of showing what she intended to say. It’s a nod to fans of the book I suppose but the impact is different, illustrating how a “faithful” adaptation leads to presenting subtle differences in a story.

This is Dune: Part 1 and we get the first half of the book more or less. The conclusion is Paul’s adoption by the Fremen after a personal and bloody duel in the desert. It’s a natural point to split the story but Denis Villeneuve uses it as the culmination of a visual and dramatic arc in which the scale of everything narrows and narrows. The massive spaceships, imperial politics and crisp uniforms of the earlier part of the film are boiled down to a few people in desert gear and a knife fight on some rocks. It is very well done and the use of Paul’s visions emphasises that this one brutal fight is the point at which history turns helps retain the epic quality established by the earlier grand visuals.

The militarism and uniforms and even the spaceships have a sinister fascistic quality even in how House Atreides is presented. Oscar Issac’s Leto is so thoroughly doomed that he cannot understand that the Harkonnen cruelty is the point of the system that he upholds even as he attempts to politic his way through the crisis. The Atreides cannot win by playing a game built on cruelty — an element that is present in the book.

For the Hugo Awards, I think this is the strongest contender. A critically acclaimed adaptation of a beloved science-fiction classic? That will be hard to beat but there are some wild cards in the mix

,

17 responses to “Hugo 22 BDP-Long: Dune”

  1. I really liked this one. I think its the best you can do to make a movie adaptaion of Dune. However I think its completly divisive among people who havent read the book. Thats not a problem for the Hugos, I guess, but its no Lord of the rings, i.e. a work that leads people outside of fandom to a classic.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Villeneueve hit it out of the park and it was well worth being masked for three straight hours in a IMAX theater. I have heard negative comments about Dune and its relationship with colonialism, though I believe Herbert was definitely coming at that topic critically.

    Liked by 1 person

    • At least in the first book yes, but the criticism he presents edges very close to parody and exists in that space where a unidentifiable parody become read as the thing it pokes fun at. The deconstruction and critique of the white saviour trope becomes just another story with a white saviour. I think Herbert’s dryness and wooden characterisations didn’t do him any favours.

      I really liked the movie, and it didn’t feel as long as it was at all. Visually the brutalist bricks in space was imposing but that was nothing compared to the intrusive soundtrack.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Before I’d seen it, but knowing that the duel was where they’d chosen to end part 1, and knowing the book, I had thought “OK, I guess dramatically it makes sense, joining the Fremen is a turning point, but the duel itself is kind of a stock scene with an antagonist we’ve barely met– the interesting part of that is the aftermath– well, we’ll see.” What I didn’t expect were two departures from the book that give it a bigger impact: the earlier use of the visions to set up a convincing but totally wrong idea of where this is going (while also neatly conveying an important idea about how precognition will work in this story, without ever spelling it out), and cutting the “Chani helps him win by giving him some fighting tips” bit so we get a stronger sense that 1. Chani is an entirely practical person who doesn’t have any kind of immediate faith in him and 2. Paul’s victory may just be due to him having rehearsed the fight psychically many times, so that even extremely misleading visions are working to push him onto his hero path. I still feel like the very last scene can’t help being an anticlimax, but it also gives a little space to take in what just happened. Just a couple of the very smart narrative choices they made in this adaptation.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. I’m embarrassed to admit that I still haven’t got around to watching this; will have to remedy that soon. But then, I’m one of those weirdos who actually liked the Lynch version, so who knows what I’ll make of this one.

    Was very intrigued to read recently that Villeneuve’s next project, after Dune 2, is going to be Rendezvous With Rama.

    Like

      • I wish I could like the Lynch version as others do— I won’t complain in detail, except to disagree that it’s intentionally “camp” in any aspect other than Kenneth McMillan’s performance (which is a lot of fun even though the homophobia in the Harkonnen stuff is dialed up to 11), or even significantly less “somber” than the Villeneuve movie. I think Lynch was being deadly serious throughout most of it, and wanted the garish and disorienting aspects to be taken as serious artistic experimentation, not fun. I know camp is a slippery concept, but having seen some very good Dune-themed drag acts that were done very deadpan, I still feel like there is a difference.

        And that relates to what you mentioned about the internal narration. A major feature of the Lynch movie is that he tried to reproduce a lot of that stuff in voiceover— and in the original script that’s online, assuming that’s authentic, there was even more of that, as he dropped in big chunks of Herbert exposition like “That’s it! The Missionaria Protectiva has been here planting protective legends against a day of Bene Gesserit need!” in Jessica’s thoughts. That could be either because he thought that was how to be faithful to a novel that has a distinctive style— without regard for how differently that stuff comes across to a viewer, who doesn’t have time to figure out what the hell Jessica is talking about in a line like that, as a reader does— or (my own suspicion) just because he knew that was a perverse thing to do in a film and liked it as a disorienting effect. But in any case I think it ends up adding just about nothing to the film; every time we hear someone thinking about how they don’t trust the other character, or that “I like this Duke”, or that they’re very impressed by the secret water reservoir we’re looking at, it’s completely unnecessary because we’re looking at the actor in the scene right now and these are all good actors who can perform recognizable human reactions. And I think that’s something Villeneuve and Spaihts understood well. Like in the scene where Jessica says “maker”, we don’t know exactly where she was originally going with that sentence, but it’s totally clear from Ferguson’s face that she was groping in the dark there and stumbled onto something significant, which is really all that matters there.

        Liked by 1 person

        • Also: one interesting thing that rewatching the Lynch version reminded me of, which I think is accurate to the book (at least the first book), is that pretty much the only people who don’t get internal narration are the Harkonnens. They’re horrible and dishonest, but they don’t really ever need to have secret thought processes because they’re pretty up-front about their horribleness. I don’t think I ever thought about that when reading, but it really jumps out at you in the 1984 movie because it’s so weird to see the other main characters constantly pausing with a blank look during a voiceover. I told someone at the time that I half expected the Baron to make a joke about this, like he would see one of the Atreides doing that look and he’d say “Oh, bless your heart, you’re telling yourself a thought!”

          Liked by 1 person

          • I have very mixed feelings on the Lynch adaption. I think he nailed some things, did other things well – and made some horrible changes. The “weirding modules” weren’t true to Herbert’s vision and didn’t make any sense. The ending wasn’t great either.

            As I recall the Harkonnens got some internal dialog in the book (except Rabban). But not much. They were as much plotters and intriguers as anyone else (except Rabban).

            Like

  5. I thought it was a kind of meh movie with the worst soundtrack I’d ever heard. It drowned out everything and tried to pretend that every small social interaction was on the level of storming of the gates of Mordor.

    Paul was a bit too emo for me and Jessica was an incredible disappointment as she was wheeping and shaking about everything when she’s supposed to have total control.

    Cinematography was fantastic, but couldn’t really save it as it. A cut of 30 minutes might have. I give it 3/5. I do not think I will watch the next part.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I saw it in IMAX and it was certainly visually and cinematically stunning.

    I haven’t read the book or seen the Lynch version for decades, and deliberately avoided refreshing myself on the plot, because I wanted to see whether Villeneuve managed to make a movie that was comprehensible to Dune versions. I think he succeeded; the story was very fresh to me but made sense.I’ll definitely see part 2. But I think Herbert jumped the shark after the second book, maybe even earlier, so I’m not sure I would be interested in any more installments without serious deviation from the original source.

    I actually loved that Jessica and Leto clearly had a great romance, and that she was very torn between that and her oath and obligations to the Bene Gesserit.

    Leto is so thoroughly doomed that he cannot understand that the Harkonnen cruelty is the point of the system that he upholds even as he attempts to politic his way through the crisis.

    I think this is one of the best summaries I’ve seen of the contradictions inherent when someone with a nobility of character mistakenly believes that they can effect sweeping beneficial change by working within a crooked system.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Someone described this version as “the coffee table art book of DUNE”, and I think that fits. It’s beautiful, it’s sweepingly grand, and people who already know the story are more or less happy with this rendition.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. […] Dune: can Dune win a Hugo, or rather can Dune win another of several Hugos that Frank Herbert’s story already has won? Adaptations of the novel have been finalists twice before (the Lynch version in 1985 and the mini-series in, ironically*, 2001). Dune has to be a strong contender on the basis of both nostalgia and it being an impressive film. I really liked it and it is likely to get a high-ranked vote from me https://camestrosfelapton.wordpress.com/2022/04/26/hugo-22-bdp-long-dune/ […]

    Like

Blog at WordPress.com.