Debarkle Chapter 21: Dramatis Personae — N.K.Jemisin

Nora Ketia Jemisin has some notable Hugo Award firsts: the first Black woman to win the Hugo Award for Best Novel, the first author to win three consecutive Hugo Awards for Best Novel. Those impressive wins are still a long way away in the history of the Sad Puppy Debarkle but within the story of a conservative counter-reaction to social change, they will play a key part. Jemisin’s 2015 novel The Fifth Season is, I believe, exactly the kind of stand-out novel that future voters for Hugo Awards will use a yardstick to compare later finalists. It is also a novel that if events had played out differently in the history I am recounting, would never have been nominated.

As with earlier Dramatis Personae essays, this chapter uses two key sources:

Any unreferenced statement will be either my opinion or drawn from one of those links listed above. Also, like the earlier Dramatis Personae chapters, this biographical essay only follows its subject up to the current point in the narrative. For Jemisin it will take the reader to about 2013 but in the process, we will double back to years and events that we have already visited in earlier chapters. Readers should also note that this chapter is in the context of the history of a conservative/right-wing reaction within science fiction which will result in a different emphasis on events and included references to people who might not appear (or be of less significance) in a biographical essay of Jemisin for a different context.

Jemisin was born in the early 1970s in the midwest but grew up in Alabama and in New York City. She trained as a psychologist but had a long interest in writing fiction. Like many of the people I’m discussing in these biographies, her shift towards writing professionally took a more substantial step in her early thirties.

In 2002 she attended the Viable Paradise writers workshop, based in Martha’s Vineyard, Massachusetts[1]. Writer’s workshops play an important role in publishing in part by supporting social networks as well as helping new writers navigate professional spaces. Of people who will appear later Viable Paradise workshop has included attendees such as Myke Cole, Deirdre Saorise Moen[2] and Marko Kloos[3], as well as instructors such as Teresa Nielsen Hayden, Patrick Nielsen Hayden, Steven Gould, Laura J Mixon and John Scalzi.

Jemisin’s experience at Viable Paradise convinced her to work on short stories although her interest has been in novels. She acquired an agent in 2004:

“I’d acquired her on the strength of a novel that I thought would definitely be my breakout. It had everything the genre seemed to want, and it was the best writing I’d ever done to that point. I quickly wrote a sequel, since it was burning in my brain, and then I waited. And waited. It didn’t sell.”

https://nkjemisin.com/2010/03/i-am-the-market/

In the 2000’s she started getting traction with her short fiction, with her work appearing at Escape Pod and in Jim Baen’s Universe magazine[5]. Jemisin’s 2009 short story in Clarkesworld Non-Zero Probabilities[6] led to critical recognition as well as becoming a Nebula and a Hugo Award finalist in 2010. That same year would see the release of her first published novel[7], which was also featured as a “Big Idea” post on John Scalzi’s Whatever blog. There Jemisin explained some of her thoughts about epic fantasy and how she had worked those into her novel:

“Yeah, sure, there’s a certain mental comfort food in the idea of putting the world back to rights. But there’s always a part of me that wonders, which rights should it be put back to? Did the heroes make the best choice, or just the easiest one? Who gets to answer that question? But such questions aren’t easy to answer, which is why I think a lot of fantasy simply doesn’t try.”

https://whatever.scalzi.com/2010/02/26/the-big-idea-n-k-jemisin/

Jemisin had been discussing these ideas about the hidden assumptions within fantasy (and speculative fiction more generally) for some time. In 2007 she took up a guest blogging spot at The Angry Black Woman blog to outline her perspective on the state of the genre:

“Speculative fiction (SF) has been, historically, one of the most racist genres in American literature. Oh, it hasn’t had as many Stepinfetchits or Uncle Toms as the mainstream, but there are few more powerful ways to wrong a people than to wipe it out of existence, and this is precisely what countless SF novels have done. If the crew of the Space Navy Vessel Whozimawhatsit is all white; if a vast medieval epic spanning several continents contains no one browner than a tan; if the scientific accomplishments of ancient nonwhite empires are dismissed as alien leftovers; if China is the only country toasted by an invading space warship; all of these is a kind of literary genocide. (Yes, genocide.) And it’s something that SF has not only done for years, but continues to do; shit like this gets published all. the. time.”

http://theangryblackwoman.com/2007/04/21/no-more-lily-white-futures-and-monochrome-myths/

In the same essay, Jemisin explained how she was not only changing how fantasy engaged with more authentically diverse worlds but was also challenging some of the genre’s institutions. She picks up on a recurring theme from authors across the political spectrum at this time: the science fiction and fantasy genres are in trouble in terms of sales and in terms of an ageing fandom.

“When I attend SF conventions, I don’t just stand out because I’m black, but because I’m young; the core of the fandom is literally dying of old age. There’s a lot of debate in the SF literary world as to whether the genre really is in trouble or not, but AFAIC, the signs ain’t good.”

ibid

To exemplify her point, Jemisin has asked SFWA members on the organisations LiveJournal[8] what the SFWA was doing to improve the demographics away from the “white and male”. The response had been disappointing:

“My question was a simple one, in essence: what has SFWA done to encourage diversity? My first answer was a resounding blog silence for about 24 hours. Later, SFWA members repeatedly pointed out to me that SFWA has had a handful of black (and female, and gay, and so on) members for years. Others pointed out that SFWA doesn’t discourage anyone from joining the organization. Someone noted that SFWA donated money to another organization for a diversity scholarship, though did nothing itself. Others seemed quite incensed that I implied SFWA was racist (I hadn’t). One accused me of trying to turn SFWA into the NAACP.”

ibid

Jemisin would become a regular blogger at Angry Black Woman using the handle Nojojojo. There and elsewhere she discussed issues around SFF as a genre, race, racism, immigration and feminism.

In 2008 an author received an Islamophobic rejection letter from Helix magazine, saying that “most of the SF magazines are very leery of publishing anything that might offend the sheet heads”[9]. Jemisin was one of several authors who to publicly protest Helix’s response, set up an author website publishing fiction as a counterweight to the ingrained issues like this within SFF publishing. Other authors involved included Ann Leckie, Yoon Ha Lee and Rachel Swirsky. At the site, Jemisin introduced her author statement with a brief anecdote

“I will never forget the first time I heard a young cousin of mine—only a little older than 12, the “golden age” as they call it in this genre—say, “Why do you write that stuff? That’s white people’s stuff.”

Science fiction and fantasy, he meant. White people’s stuff.”

http://transcriptase.org/statements/nkjemisin/#more-324

Jemisin went on to say:

“But there’s another reason why my young cousin might’ve decided that SF/F is the sole province of one group of people, and that is because there’s a stunning amount of bigotry rampant within the SF/F community itself. In just the past year I’ve seen prominent, bestselling SF/F authors calling for the criminalization of homosexuality, advocating the death-through-medical-neglect of Spanish-speaking immigrants (just the illegals, note, as if that’s better), and trivializing rape and sexual objectification. The Helix incident is only the latest salvo in a long-running war by a few individuals in the SF community against several million other members of the human race.”

ibid[10]

However, this was a prelude to her wider point. What was worse, in her view, than the overt bigotry was the surrounding silence.

“In neutral situations silence can have multiple meanings, positive and negative and in-between. To a member of a marginalized group, however, silence in response to bigotry can only be negative, because it connotes approval, or at best ambivalence. The golden age of 12 is also the much less shiny age at which many children of oppressed groups begin to understand bigotry, often through unpleasant personal experience. And these children are going to wonder why there’s such a disconnect between what the SF/F community says—e.g., that it’s progressive and welcomes diversity—and what it does—e.g., that so many of its members remain silent in the face of hate. And these kids are likely to conclude, as my cousin did, that SF/F is Not For Them.”

ibid

The silence (or intellectualised civility) in the face of overt bigotry was a larger problem because it involved far more people. The silence allowed the overt bigotry to work its effect of making it clear that some people would not be welcomed in science fictional communities (of fans or of writers or of both). While people not targetted by overt bigotry might assume that the overt ideological racists (or misogynists or homophobes) were powerless minorities whose extreme views would never get an upper hand, practically those pushing prejudice were effectively enforcing prejudice in an immediate and direct manner. The overt prejudice and the surrounding silence all served to marginalise the already marginalised and silence some voices. Not everybody’s freedom of speech was given equal worth.

Towards the end of that statement, Jemisin would state:

“I need to be able to look these kids in the eye and tell them that I’m an SF/F writer without feeling a twinge of shame as I say it. I need to see pride in their eyes, not confusion or concern, when they look back at me. Hell, I need to be able to look myself in the eye, with my self-respect intact.

So I will not let bigots bully me and mine out of this genre. I won’t let them do it to anyone else, either. I will fight back with everything I have.”

ibid

Not surprisingly, in 2009 N.K.Jemisin was a major voice in the wide-ranging discussion of race and racism within science fiction known as RaceFail. I’ve discussed that in more details (including some of Jemisin’s statements) in Chapter 13[11]. As well as being engaged in the topic at her own blog and on LiveJournal, Jemisin was one of the most insightful commentators on the follow-up posts at Whatever[12].

By 2013, Jemisin was a rising star. Her fantasy fiction was hitting a popular balance between the classic aspect of the genre with a refreshing new perspective. In online spaces, her outspoken politics was part of a wave of newer writers looking to bring the genre into a better future aesthetically, culturally and socially.

In May 2013, Jemisin set off on a 20-hour journey to the other side of the world as the Guest of Honour at the Australian pop-culture convention Continuum in Melbourne[13]…but that’s a story for another chapter.

Next Time: We double back in time a little to look at part 1 of the saga of the troubles at the SFWA


Footnote


56 responses to “Debarkle Chapter 21: Dramatis Personae — N.K.Jemisin”

      • In now, io9 and the original article.
        I’m didn’t set out to make Pournelle et al as kind of recurring baddies in this narrative but, good grief, they keep volunteering. I’d thought they would be a more ‘rightwing establishment but talented’ as a contrast to the later puppies who admired Pournelle & Niven in particular but don’t have an ounce of their talent as writers.

        Liked by 3 people

      • I’ll admit that what bothers me most about Niven’s notion is how stupid it is. It’s not an immoral but practical idea – it’s an immoral and grossly counter-productive idea. Spreading rumors that doctors are murderous monsters doesn’t cut costs – it just creates stochastic anti-doctor terror. Think that the emergency room is too crowded? See how crowded it is after you’ve put ER doctors on a death list.

        Liked by 1 person

      • I have repeatedly somehow blocked that Niven thing out of my memory, so that every time I see it again I’m like “OH GOD— oh, yeah, I guess I did know that.” I’m sure that this is because I have much more affection for (some of) Niven’s work than for Pournelle’s or Card’s, and had gotten used to thinking of him as the one who isn’t quite as nuts, and didn’t really want to have to re-examine that. But also, for me (and this is just my personal reaction, not necessarily a rational one), there is something more disturbing about this kind of casual, “practical”, I’m-just-thinking-out-loud tone as opposed to someone like Card who has a more emotionally up-front presentation of his bigotry. Of course that was 100% the tone of Oath of Fealty but I guess I had always mentally filed that one under Pournelle.

        “It does work.” Whether those were the exact words or not, good God Niven WTF is wrong with you. It’s not just the callous cruelty, but the incredibly arrogant stupidity of thinking that of course the idea he just pulled out of his ass is a solid prediction of human behavior. Although there again I’m probably reflexively being too generous: the simplest explanation is just that he didn’t really think of this as “human behavior”, he was imagining people as simple animals or at best children. (@Speaker, I think that’s related to your point: in this kind of mental game, the subjects don’t really have agency, they’re just there to be messed with.)

        Liked by 2 people

      • I am about 90% sure that ended up in the mainstream press. For some reason, when I read that again, my brain produced the words “USA Today”. Probably AP/UPI/AFP might have picked up on it.

        Liked by 1 person

      • @Eli Bishop
        “ But also, for me (and this is just my personal reaction, not necessarily a rational one), there is something more disturbing about this kind of casual, “practical”, I’m-just-thinking-out-loud tone as opposed to someone like Card who has a more emotionally up-front presentation of his bigotry.”

        I don’t think your reaction is unique—the poet Dante stuck the Opportunists on Hell’s front porch after all.
        The High Creator
        scourged them from Heaven for its perfect beauty,
        and Hell will not receive them since the wicked
        might feel some glory over them.

        (The Inferno, Canto III, Ciardi’s translation.)

        Liked by 2 people

    • The idea that the effect would be restricted to illegal immigrants is also daft. It’s just stunningly inhumane, without an ounce of thought out into it.

      Liked by 2 people

      • Niven’s been an asshat for decades. Back in 2000, he was claiming the general lack of moon colonies and flying cars was due to the money going to welfare:

        “We should not have assumed that a political space station could be built. We’d have most of what we predicted of the conquest of space, if we hadn’t ignored parasite control. The wealth (as in flying cars) predicted by Heinlein and his followers (including myself) was another matter. It all went to welfare programs.

        Vast numbers of people are microscopically better off for that, except that we all have less to aspire to.”

        https://web.archive.org/web/20020202153830/https://www.space.com/sciencefiction/larryniven/larry_niven_000210.html

        Liked by 1 person

  1. I hated The 20K Kingdoms, bounced off it real hard (writing was fine, the characters annoyed me) but I gave it a try thanks to her commentary around the web.

    I also hate depressing disaster books and yet I voted all 3 years in a row for her Best Novels. Because damn. Those were mind-bending books. Her shorter work is also stupendous.

    You can see why Puppies hated her. A woman. Black. Not meek. Talented AF. Everything they aren’t.

    (Also, I am still in love with the cape she wore to the 2018 Hugos. SO GORGEOUS.)

    Liked by 2 people

    • I didn’t like 20K Kingdoms either. And I voted her first Broken Earth book in first place, because the writing was spectacular, but refused to read any further books as I hated absolutely every person in the books and thought the first should have ended with everyone dead.

      Liked by 3 people

    • You mean 100K Kingdoms? (I loved that whole trilogy even more than Broken Earth, honestly, although The Stone Sky is an absolute triumph on par with anything).

      Fully expect Jemisin to clean up the Nebula/Hugo this year, even though I think ACWB isn’t nearly up to the prior books, although it is – as one would expect from her – VERY good.

      Like

      • I’m another who loved The Hundred Thousand Kingdoms far more than the Broken Earth trilogy.

        I read the synopsis for The City We Became and the Wikipedia entry for it and thought, “ugh, that is so not the sort of fiction I enjoy,” so I haven’t read it. I suppose I’ll try, if it makes the Hugo ballot, but I’m not optimistic.

        Liked by 2 people

    • I didn’t read the 100k or 20k or whatnot Kingdoms books because people I know well and trust told me they wouldn’t be my thing, and explained why (this was years ago so I don’t remember the details). I absolutely loved the Broken Earth trilogy, though I also understand why Hampus Eckerman would feel the way they do. I read the novella or short story from the City We Became world and really, really didn’t like it. With so much amazing stuff to read in the world, I can’t feel too anxious about sometimes not being in to everything an author writes, though I do hope to go back and review my opinions in the future. Often, books or music doesn’t click with me because I’m not in the right head space.

      Like

      • The short story appears in the novel as the prologue. Seeing it back-to-back with the rest, the way it flicks through its concepts too fast is brought into higher relief, while the rest of the book benefits from drawing out its implications in a more detailed and relaxed way. I did think it skirted the edge of New Yorkish insularity throughout, though.

        I’m currently reading the last of the 100K Kingdoms trilogy, incidentally.

        Like

  2. “In response to an Islamophobic rejection letter from a SFF magazine editor in 2008[9] was one of several authors who set up an author website publishing fiction as a counterweight to the ingrained issues within SFF publishing.”

    I suspect you want either “Jemisin” or “she” after the footnote marker in this sentence, depending on the tone you’re going for (“Jemisin” for a more detached, formal biographical feel; “she” for a less formal feel).

    Like

  3. Did you explain “the Helix incident” Jemisin refers to in a previous chapter? I don’t know what it is.

    Liked by 2 people

    • This is the first time I’ve heard about Helixgate. Ugh. Sanders is as bad as the guy who runs Unreal/Unfit/Longshot Press.

      I found archived versions of most of the dead links, so if there’s one or more you want to see, Cam, let me know.

      Like

      • Sanders is currently past-tense. He was famously thin-skinned; insufficiently glowing positive reviews could infuriate him.

        Like

        • Hmmm… reading Sanders’ Wikipedia entry, I was quite sure I had read “The Undiscovered” just in the past few years. It appears that I read it as a result of this comment on File 770. I thought it was… okay? It raked in Hugo, Nebula, and Sturgeon nominations, and won the Sidewise for Best Short Form Alternate History.

          Like

      • I hope not, cause zombie Sanders editing from beyond the grave would be a terrible prospect. I also think Sanders was rumoured to be one of the 12 rabid weasels.

        I almost typed Saunders by the way and I wouldn’t at all mind having Charles Saunders back.

        Liked by 1 person

      • @James: thanks for the tense update. I was thinking “one more asshole in the world” but it’s much less stressful to realize “one less asshole in the world” instead.

        @Cora: I’d take Lawrence Sanders back for more mysteries.

        Like

      • I had the same confusion as Lampwick about that. It might be a good idea to make that connection clearer. As it is, a reader need to not just have checked footnote 9 itself, but to have followed the link in the footnote til have seen the name Helix before they encounter it in the Jemisin quote. And since the statement from Jemisin is fairly general and starts with this conversation with her young cousin, it’s not obvious that her reference to “The Helix incident” points at the reason the site got started, and that footnote 9 is the place to look for details.

        Liked by 2 people

  4. “a powerless minorities who extreme views‘ – suggest dropping “a” before “powerless”. “Who” should be “whose”.
    Staggering to think anybody would not want to publish 100k Kingdoms. So glad Jemisin persisted. Like a large amount of current life, this chapter shows the importance of the active pursuit of diversity and inclusion.

    Not directly related to SFF, but RaceFail and the puppies in SF were followed by a similar kerfuffle in the romance genre: a backlash against D&I efforts: https://claireryanauthor.com/blog/2019/12/27/the-implosion-of-the-rwa/. As SFF racists targeted Jemisin, romance racists targeted Courtney Milan.

    Liked by 1 person

      • Thanks! I didn’t know. I followed it from the romance end, as I had started reading Milan after the CopyPasteCris plagiarism scandal.

        Liked by 2 people

      • Courtney Milan should be honored forever just for acquiring the court records on the “Cockygate” lawsuit and putting them out there for us all to LOL. I amused a lot of people who don’t follow any sort of publishing/fannish gossip with that. Great conversation fodder.

        Liked by 1 person

    • “Staggering to think anybody would not want to publish 100k Kingdoms.”

      The books described in the excerpt from her “I am the market.” post are something different (possibly they became her Dreamblood books?), though she does also mention elsewhere in the post that the 100k Kingdoms is a heavy rewrite of one of her trunk novels.

      Liked by 1 person

    • The books she couldn’t get published were the Dreamblood Duology, (at the very least, The Killing Moon). She put them aside and wrote 100K Kingdoms and the Inheritance Trilogy afterwards, and those became her first published works, and after their success she was able to sell Dreamblood.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Thanks for this info – more for me to read! Again, one of the great pleasures of this blog is everyone’s generosity in sharing useful info.

        Like

    • If Cam wants to have background about the RWA matter (including its bizarre Ellora’s Cave prelude), my wife Deirdre Saoirse Moen is likely to be able to help (as probably is the illustrious Courtney Milan, of course).

      Like

  5. This weekend I was attending a sci fi con that I have attended nearly every single year since 1987… and for the most part the virtual con worked well.

    But…

    I spent some time in a video chat with two other old greybeardTM fans… both of them have been on the WSF Hugo committees in various capacities for many, many years before I became a regular nominator and voter, and as part of the conversation I mentioned about the Blip in my To-Be-Read pile caused each year by the two Hugo deadlines (the nomination and the voting deadlines)… and BOTH of them told me that they no longer nominate in anything by the Fan categories, because neither is interested in “the modern writers”…

    …these are people I’ve known and respected for years… and neither of them felt the slightest compunction about continuing to serve on the committee that actually counts all the votes and so forth, but also admitting that they dislike all the stories that actually get nominated.

    Part of me was thinking, “Well, this completely eviscerates the Puppies argument about a secret cabal locking them out” but another part of me was thinking, “If y’all don’t read the new stuff, why are you still taking positions on the committee?”

    I mean, of the two, the one I think of as an friend, rather than just an acquaintance, if very VERY pedantic and in her mundane job was involved in the legal field and maybe she’s just a truly disinterested consultant at this point but… well… I just felt really weird that two people involved in administering the Hugos were admitting it a semi-public forum that they don’t like/aren’t interested in the stories that make the short list???

    Liked by 2 people

    • fontfolly, I’m not surprised, and I guess as long as they’re committed to doing the job with integrity it doesn’t matter whether they read the finalist works. But like you, I think it’s pretty sad. 😐

      Liked by 2 people

    • I’d guess they think there’s an advantage to having the job done by people who are genuinely disinterested in the results, because they have friends who do care about the results. It’s better than deciding “I have to vote on everything, even if I don’t know enough to have anything like an informed opinion.” And it’s a lot better than “I’ll vote for this person because they drink with my buddy” or “so-and-so likes their work, I’ll vote for it even though I haven’t read/watched it or any of the other candidates.”

      There’s a local election in the town I live in, tomorrow, and I’ve been looking at the ballot–one yes/no budget question, and a bunch of offices like Select Board and Member of the Library Committee–and it took me a while to decide that “I don’t know, and I don’t know whose opinions to trust, so it’s reasonable for me to sit this one out.” Right now, I have an opinion about one position, a seat on the town Housing Board; I may volunteer as an election worker for the next local election, because I do think it matters, but it’s very hard to find information about this level of local office. (This is how the SF writer Naomi Kritzer started researching and writing about very local politics in Minneapolis.)

      Liked by 2 people

    • As long as they do their job dilligently, it doesn’t matter if they don’t read the finalists and in fact, it probably helps them to be impartial, if they don’t care about the results either way.

      I also sympathise with fandom’s or specifically Hugo nominators’ tastes diverging from your own, cause I’ve been there. Though it’s still sad that they dismiss all the fiction finalists unread, because there are always new people coming in and they might actually enjoy some of their works. I admit that there are authors who regularly pop up on the Hugo ballot whose work I just don’t care for. I usually take a look to see if they’ve come closer to my tastes since the last time I saw their work (which happened exactly once), but otherwise don’t bother with those works.

      Though even if the Hugos were to swing away from my tastes again (and there are categories where my tastes and those of Hugo voters diverge wildly), I at least nominate, because how can I expect to see works I like on the ballot, if I don’t nominate them.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Part of my brain went here, obviously, and since the one person has bee a friend fo several decades, I tend to fall on the “she’s impartial and takes that part of the job seriously” side of the razor… and since we were in a video chat where we could see who was listening, I should just accept that they didn’t believe admitting their dislike of modern stuff to me wasn’t a problem.

        But, I’m in the same age bracket as both of them, and I do read the newer stuff…

        …I just realized that the REAL issue for me is maybe it’s time to ask myself why, if I have conflicting feelings, I haven’t tried to get involved beyond the role of nominating and voting.

        Liked by 1 person

  6. Myke Cole and Marko Kloos are two names that blur in my mind, I’ll admit (I’m the guy that jumped to the conclusion that Curt Siodmak was a pseudonym for Cliff Simak).

    Liked by 1 person

  7. If Jemisin had started her career in the 1990’s, she very likely would have been steered away from category SFF publishers to general fiction and African American imprints as an “ethnic” writer, with an eye to selling her in the African American lit sections of bookstores. That section, which initially was supposed to highlight books that otherwise might get ignored or unpublished from Black authors, became for booksellers a way to section off Black authors with the false, bigoted idea that only other Black people wanted to read them (and the other false assertion that most of the reading market was white and needed to be catered to with white authors.) Despite the success of Afrofuturism back in the 1970’s, that was very much the view sadly of category market SFF imprints — that they had few BIPOC readers, that Black authors should be seldom published by them, etc.

    I’m sure that she still ran into that view when she attempted to get into the market in the oughts because it’s still around, though her attending the Paradise workshop did perhaps help mitigate it. But she deliberately marketed to and sold in the category SFF market. She not only called herself a SFF writer, but she made sure that she was seen as part of the category media, conventions and other aspects of SFF fandom, as coming from that sector of the overall SFF field, rather than just cross-marketed to the category market. That position, as her books started to sell well and get much talked about, helped a lot of authors of color coming in behind her to the SFF category market, which was part of why she did it.

    It also helped that Jemisin was part of a larger group of writers of color at that time who had in the past or were as they entered the field, pushing not just to be published in the category market but to get equal backing, equal voice and treatment in the field. These writers were often key in demanding codes of conduct at conventions, equal representation in professional groups like SFWA and RWA, trying to eliminate bigoted practices like whitewashing covers, calling for better representation in children’s and YA fiction, etc. It also meant they were loud voices in online conversations such as RaceFail and also the SFWA Bulletin issues, the objections to Moon’s comments re WisCon, the RWA dispute, etc. It was Daniel Jose Older, for instance, who led the charge along with other writers of color to get rid of the Lovecraft bust.

    All of that is very frightening to a bunch of white authors who are status obsessed. They do not like that not only does the category market not look exactly how they are used to, (though it’s still 85% white authors and 90% white publishing professionals and booksellers,) but that those authors and fans keep bringing up issues that point out that much of their status is artificial and predicated on keeping many others out, which is less and less appealing to younger fans. It also limits growth enough that publishers are slowly starting to respond. And in those situations, anyone prominent and successful in the community who is also calling for change gets designated the leader who is leading a conspiracy that is just ruining the whole place and thus a target to drive out. Jemisin was at the time, though she hadn’t quite reached the level in the field she shortly thereafter achieved, the logical person to throw into that role.

    And she knew it too. Which is why she gave that speech at Continuum.

    Liked by 1 person

Blog at WordPress.com.