Review: The Last Emperox by John Scalzi

I listened to audio-book of the final instalment of John Scalzi’s Interdependency series. I found it to be the most entertaining of the three, partly because I’d warmed more to the key characters but also I think I really wasn’t sure what sort of series this was going to be. Serious space-opera? Snarky parody? Neither of those entirely but for a series involving murder and social collapse, it is strong on humour and genre-savvy sarcasm.

Emperox Greyland II has survived assassination attempts, coup attempts and the hostility of the noble families of the Interdependency. However, the awful reality of the slow collapse of interstellar travel is becoming clear. With most humans living in space habitats or in subterranean complexes on otherwise uninhabitable planets, all eyes are on the one terrestrial planet in the system known as End. There a civil war is in progress but the grim reality is that there are far more people in the Interdependency than can be evacuated to End. Meanwhile, the noble house monopolies (created to not just enrich the aristocracy but also to make civil wars very bad for business) guarantee that an economic collapse will happen long before every human system is cut off from each other. It’s a clever set-up and Scalzi has used the previous books to gradually introduce the multiple elements of the politics and economics of this mercantile empire.

What surprises me is that this was the final book rather than the big cliffhanger episode of a four book series. It would be churlish to complain, in fact it is creditable that rather than spin this out further, the author focused on the key plot elements and brought the whole thing to a clever and satisfying resolution. There is obviously plenty of room for a sequel but even given that the story as presented had plenty of room for expansion. Given the opening of the book, I expected to read more about the civil war on End and the main plot teases a potential epic space battle. Of course, add that in and you’d either have got a much longer final book or a four-part book series. As is, there is a very clear point where this book could have just stopped and left everybody on the seat of their pants waiting for the final book. Instead, we get to the endgame very quickly.

The timeliness of the plot still functions. Although the Emperox herself is competent, the theme of powerful people being too busy looking out for their own interests and petty squabbles to deal with broader existential threats is one that works well with our current condition. I’m not suggesting there is a deep analysis here or that the whole thing is a satire on waning American power — if anything the eventual resolution rests on the dangerous desire in chaotic times to just have somebody really, really powerful take control of everything (fine in a space opera but let’s not ever actually try that).

Entertaining and nicely pitched balance of serious space opera and humour, my only (and highly limited) complaint was that this series was over at that point were I’d shifted from “this sort of good” to “I’m really enjoying this and would like more”. I’m tempted to re-read the series again, as I suspect the first two books will have magically improved now that I’ve got myself in sync with the arc of the story.


8 responses to “Review: The Last Emperox by John Scalzi”

  1. I rather enjoyed the series, although I’ll admit [REDACTED] had me muttering ‘Goddamnit, Scalzi.’

    You think it might be worth a Best Series nomination next year?

    Like

  2. So I only skimmed this one – I somehow received copies of both this book and the 2nd book through NetGalley AFTER the trilogy had been fully released, after I’d only liked but not loved the first novel.

    It’s funny you say you thought this could’ve been a longer series, because my complaint of the first novel was that it was too drawn out, and that the promise of the title – The Collapsing Empire – didn’t actually occur in that novel! Anyhow, I’d liked but didn’t love the characters, so had skipped book 2 when it came out until I got it as I mentioned above via Netgalley. And found book 2 more of the same – I was curious how things would be resolved in the end – which is why I skimmed book 3 at all – but I just didn’t love the characters (and 2+ years away from them didn’t help) and found book 2’s (and again in book 3’s) plot so repetitive of the first novel – all three novels feature the same thing – person in power tries to do good in a way that requires long term thinking and short term schemers try to stop her in their own power grabs in different ways. It just was the same thing over and over again and I got bored real quickly, even if i was curious about the overall conclusion.

    To contrast it with Scalzi’s other long space opera/milsci series (Old Man’s War), that series featured each novel (Zoe’s Tale aside) taking a different approach to the material even if the themes remained the same. Here it was just the same approach OVER and OVER.

    To me, this is the opposite of a Best Series nominee, a series that grew rote and repetitive over time instead of better. But I understand I’m not in the majority here.

    Liked by 3 people

  3. I quite enjoyed all three books, though I agree that the third book was the best and did an excellent job of wrapping things up in a way that I absolutely was not expecting but made complete sense in retrospect. I thought that a couple of characters had great character arcs.

    He’s left himself enough hanging threads for further adventures if he feels like writing more later, but I definitely feel as though I got a complete story. It might not be on my Hugo Series ballot shortlist next year, but it will probably be on my longlist.

    And katster, I’ll bet that your “goddammit, Scalzi, [REDACTED]” is the same as mine. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  4. It’s hard to be delighted with a deus ex machina ending. Beyond that, the series as a whole is rather sloppy. For example, he put a lot of effort in book 1 introducing us to End and it’s inhabitants, but then we barely ever see the place again. Conflicts are set up and then either forgotten about or else resolved offstage in a paragraph or two.

    Like

    • I thought he set up the specific machina for the deus to ex from was done sufficiently neatly.

      The End stuff – well yes. That’s mainly what I was thinking of when saying this could have been book three of four. Add in the civil war in End and then finish the book with the imperial task force on the verge of heading to End when…well the spoilery-spoilery thing happens and uh-oh…

      Book 4 then is Kiva and Mars coping with the aftermath, the baddies getting ready for final victory. The guerrilla war on End (mentioned in the book) and…then deus ex machina.

      But…that’s really just the same story but with extra pages.

      Like

Blog at WordPress.com.