Speaking of Cars in Space – Heavy Metal was a terrible movie

So while Elon Musk has opened the topic of astronauts driving cars, it is worth noting that the 1980 movie Heavy Metal was very bad. Let me count the ways:

  • The animation was bad, even for the time period.
  • A lot of the art was just bad.
  • The stories were at best weak and often just plain dull.
  • The music wasn’t terrible but despite the range of talent involved it was all mediocre.

And of course, it was a galumphing stereotype of wanky sexism with a boob obsession.

The premise was a set of animated shorts joined by a common framing story (a green globe of concentrated evil) and musical numbers by bands like Cheap Trick and Nazareth. The stories were animated by different companies, which cut down production times and meant that each sequence had its own style. I assume that variety of styles is why the film manages to maintain a reputation. No story or sequence lasts long enough for people to really remember what the storyline was, which leaves an impression of a mix of ideas and images.

I’d only seen the film in bits and pieces. A friend had a VHS of it but it wasn’t something I watched all the way through until much later. I assume the novelty of it also added to its reputation and its limited availability on video meant many people had only patchy memories of it. The idea of a ‘grown up’ sci-fi/fantasy anthology animation is certainly appealing and at the start of the 1980’s comics were heading into a new period of appealling to older audiences. Yet, the shallow story telling is so poor in that film compared to what you could read in comics of the time, that I remain puzzled that a film of that length couldn’t manage at least one interesting story. The only added element beyond using a variety of visual styles (poorly executed) was the emphasis on naked breasts.

What an odd lost opportunity.

 


23 responses to “Speaking of Cars in Space – Heavy Metal was a terrible movie”

  1. Have you heard of the Canadian cartoon kids show from the 1970s Rocket Robin Hood? I had completely forgotten about it until this weekend when a friend and I were talking about Canadian content laws. I loved these guys! Friar Tuck punching out warlord villains. Awesome.

    Like

    • I’ve always thought of Rocket Robin Hood as a companion series to The Mighty Hercules. Probably because they were both shown on a local morning kid show. Not sure if they have any connection other than both being Canadian.

      Like

    • Made by the same people who did Spider Man. There’s at least one episode where they dubbed Spidy over Robin but left the rest pretty much unchanged.

      Like

  2. My memory is that the older stoner kids (age 12+) were super into it. As a 10-year old, I was fascinated by the idea of animated boobs, but never saw it other than in tiny sections until I was too old to appreciate it (and I wasn’t a teenage stoner, which was a huge detriment).

    Liked by 1 person

      • If you haven’t seen it, there’s a South Park episode in which Kenny finds a disgusting new drug that puts him into Heavy Metal world, where pretty much everyone and everything has boobs, as well as mass quantities of pretentious gothness. It’s quite likely that even random clips from the episode on YouTube would convey the spirit of the whole thing.

        Liked by 1 person

    • If it helps, I was a teenage stoner when this flick was rereleased on VHS in the mid 90s, and while the animated boobs held my attention for the first viewing, weed did not magically make that flick better, then or now.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Sternn was about the only segment that seemed like a candidate for being better than bad, but it was a letdown (most of the movie, I think fits this category) to see Wrightson’s brilliant renderings rendered down into Saturday morning animation.

        Yeah, I was at least somewhat into the magazine Heavy Metal. I’m not sure if I saw it before I saw Metal Hurlant. I remember thinking MH was really amazing, with dazzling artwork and stories that, written in a lingo I didn’t parley, looked obscurely amazing. My friend Rich, who gave me a stack of English and French editions (the core of any collection of those that I have) said he felt the same way, and when he saw the same stories translated into English, was hugely disappointed at how weak they really were (apart from the art).

        Like

  3. I wouldn’t say all the music was mediocre. It vacillated wildly between pretty good (Hagar, one of the two Felder songs, Devo, one of the two CT songs) and pretty terrible (most everything else). The two oddballs are the Journey and Black Sabbath songs which were also on albums released by those respective bands that same year. Open Arms was also on the mega-hit Escape album which was released before the film. Mob Rules (considered by Sabbath fans to be one of the best songs of the Dio-led version of Sabbath) was on the album of the same name that was released after the film.

    For a time in the mid-’80s the soundtrack was OOP and not being re-released due to rights clearances (I think). It was pretty highly sought after by fans of the groups that had good songs on it (or at least it was in my circle of acquaintances). As a big CT fan, I wanted it solely for “I Must Be Dreaming”, which was not available anywhere else. But yes, the bad stuff on the album is breathtakingly bad (especially the Nazareth and the Grand Funk Railroad songs).

    The film was sure a stinker. I was a 15 year old boy with the usual hormones, but I just thought it was awful. I think there was one vignette that I thought was mildly amusing. Can’t remember which one.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Mildly amusing, you say? Probably “Captain Stern.”

      I remember being a bit let down by the failure of most or all of it to capture the styles of the artists involved. Stern was Berni Wrightson’s story. There was also Rich Corben (who I wasn’t sick and tired of yet), Moebius, and… well, to be honest, I haven’t thought about this in a while, so I’m gonna go do something else now.

      Like

      • Captain Sternn is really the only memorable part of the movie for me, in large part due to John Vernon’s performance as the prosecuting attorney. He was always a great straight man in his comedic roles.

        As far as the animation and art style goes, you’re obviously more familiar with that material than I am, but the only real stand out part for me was the deleted sequence between Captain Sternn and B-17 (I believe it was called Neverwhere on the DVD, but don’t quote me on that).

        Liked by 1 person

  4. I will agree that the movie is largely crap and has entirely too much focus on showing off naked cartoon breasts, but I can’t agree with your assessment of the music as mediocre (and not just because, as my name suggests, I’m a fan of the genre). Blue Oyster Cult’s “Veteran of the Psychic Wars” and Black Sabbath’s “The Mob Rules” are some killer tunes, and were, IMO, very appropriate for their respective segments.

    And I will ALWAYS go to bat for Devo. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

      • Nah, you don’t have to think of a different term. Leastaways, not on my account; I’m just a jackass on the internet spouting an opinion. 🙂

        Just don’t watch the sequel, unless you’re a dedicated masochist. That flick makes Flesh Gordon look Oscar-worthy by comparison.

        Like

    • I bought the digital version of the soundtrack a few years ago so that I could get the Stevie Nicks song.

      There, I’ve said it.

      Liked by 2 people

      • FLESH GORDON wasn’t a bad flick. I’d put it above any other revivals of Flash Gordon. It was affectionately campy, darn near witty, had really good model work and monster animation, and its sequel (though it never came out) somehow managed to launch the career of a friend of mine who is still making good money doing covers and matte painting. Also, sex! Though the sex is nothing to write home about (I can affirm that I have never written home about the sex in it), and the R-rated version is probably as entertaining for the other reasons mentioned.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Flesh Gordon 2 was one of the worst movies I’ve ever tried to watch. It came out on VHS, I think.
        I don’t recall if I ever saw Heavy Metal 2000. The synopsis rings no bells.

        Heavy Metal 1981 repeated all the time on HBO back in the day, so it’s fondly remembered just for the familiarity. And the songs. And the boobs.

        Like

  5. “Potentially interesting situation that almost instantly devolves into purely adolescent sex farce” is of course a fair summary of many, many stories in Metal Hurlant/Heavy Metal magazine.

    Liked by 1 person

Blog at WordPress.com.