Doctor Who: 73 Yards [no spoilers]

Wow. That was bloody good and a great performance by Millie Gibson.

Not unlike last week’s Moffat episode, there is a sense of Russel T. Davies doing a medley of past hits. There are elements here of Midnight, Turn Left and his non-Who series Years and Years but the net effect is a genuinely creepy story of being haunted that then takes off in its own direction part way through.

If you like answers and explanations, you may be disappointed. I don’t know if this will give you nightmares but substantial chunks of it have nightmarish feel.

Not sure what else to say. Each episode so far has got incrementally better and weirder and more intense. Great stuff. All the Welsh people I’ve ever met have been lovely, honest.

,

6 responses to “Doctor Who: 73 Yards [no spoilers]”

  1. Set up to record off the Beeb tonight & it sounds as if this will be a good one (I loved The Devil’s Chord but Boom not so much).

    Like

    • It’s a divisive episode. Marmite spread thickly on toast.
      Three common opinions: 1. 100% instant classic (I’m in this camp, also Charlie Jane Anders and Neil Gaimen) 2. many good bits but doesn’t hold together (El Sandifer – who is rarely wrong on such things) and 3. WTF???
      Everybody praised Millie Gibson though

      Writing a more spoilery post at the moment.

      Like

  2. What could be divisive about delicious Marmite spread thickly?

    This episode reminded me of 1)an old short story about a man who asks people to translate a foreign letter he’s received. In every case they recoil from him in horror (“I can never marry you now.”) and he dies without ever learning what it says.

    Also a comment that in RTD stories the logic is often missing but poetry never is. The first half hour was incredibly creepy; with the right ending, I think the poetry could have satisfied me even without an explanation.

    This was not that ending.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Great performance by Gibson though I still don’t think Ruby is a standout companion otherwise (I consider the snow and the mystery of her birth just window dressing on her generic perkiness).

    Like

  4. I’m in the liked it a lot camp. The first half laid on the creepiness really well, but I have a strange and inexplicable fondness for ‘lived a whole lifetime within the confines of a moment’ type stories and this really hit that soft spot for me.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.