Hugo 24: Starter Villain by John Scalzi

Like his earlier Kaiju Preservation Society, this is another in John Scalzi’s pandemic/post-pandemic phase of light overtly fun novels. Neither book is really a comedy as such but they play with amusing ideas and the use pastiche of popular culture to assemble their plots. Unlike, KPS there is a stronger element of satire in Starter Villain both in specific events and in the overall arc of the central character as a comment on living in the 2020s.

I found KPS to be a quick, entertaining but essentially disposable read that felt at odds with being a finalist for a Hugo Award. Unlike Scalzi’s Hugo-winning Redshirts, it really didn’t bring anything along that made the book particularly noteworthy. A book can succeed in being what it is supposed to be without being particularly exceptional.

Starter Villain is an improvement on KPS in this regard. The first third made me think that the story perhaps might go to some interesting places. In this section, Charlie Fitzer a middle-class but financially insecure man finds himself at the centre of increasingly strange events after his estranged uncle dies. Of course, we know from the title and the promotional material that the underlying reason is that his uncle was actually a criminal mastermind of Bond-villain-level proportions. Still, this sense of a man who is in imminent danger of homelessness finding themselves caught up in a bizarre funeral and getting advice from his cat has a delightful weirdness to it.

OK, obviously I like stories with talking cats. Still, I think this is where we can see Scalzi pulling a lot of punches. Fitzer isn’t quite a Scalzi stand-in character per-se but they share enough in common for him to be a version of Scalzi who hadn’t had the same breaks in terms of personal and financial success, which again is an interesting idea that he is playing with. The character finds themselves in a dire situation due to a marriage break-up and the loss of his job as a journalist. His plan to escape from this downward spiral is an unrealistic plan to borrow money to buy a local neighbourhood bar. The obvious downward spiral Fitzer is trapped in is well set up but the sense of a man sliding into deluded desperation is never really left to stew for very long. This is a shame because desperate-man-starts-recieving-messages-from-his-cats his a great premise and I wished we’d stayed longer in the space where there was some ambiguity as to whether Fitzer was actually on a path of paranoid delusion.

The second two-thirds is the more overt pastiche of Bond-villain antics. Fitzer discovers he is the heir to his uncle’s criminal (sort of) enterprise and is drawn into a conflct with other Blofeld-like villains. There are fun elements like a labour dispute with his pod of genetically enhanced dolphins but otherwise this is mainly just a bunch of twists and turns and explosions. That’s all good fun but it is a bit like going to a restaurant and ordering spagehti bolognese. Sure, I love to eat spagehti bolognese but I can cook it myself at home and the same is true about a shaggy dog (cat?) story with random explosions and intentionally silly plot twists.

Anyway, everything ends happily for Fitzer and he gets to own his own home and buy that bar he always wanted to and essentially shift to a stable middle-class life but, and here is where the novel is more overtly in social-commentray/satire, only with the intervention of a SPECTRE sized international criminal conspiracy. The American Dream in the 2020s is achievable but you need the backing of people with their own secret volcano base. It’s too gently presented to be a biting comment on the impossibility of financial security without inherited wealth, luck and possibly criminal behaviour but it does help elevate the novel beyond just having a laugh at Bond-villain cliches.

So a spag-bol of a novel but the portions not big enough to fill you up and a bit under-seasoned and lacking any real bite. It has (sort of) talking cats in it and therefore I am obliged to approve of it. Could Scalzi have written a better version of this same book? Well…I don’t know, he knows better what his audience wants and maybe he has tailored this one exactly right in terms of what this book is supposed to be. I’d have personally liked a version of this same book that was more cruel to Fitzer’s circumstance, played longer with the possibility that he was escaping into a delusion/breakdown (and perhaps get that possibility ambiguous at the end), had more biting jokes and broader comedy. I’m glad there wasn’t a romance sub-plot with Mathilda (his deceased uncle’s second in command) but that also meant there was very little in the main two-thirds of the book of Fitzer developing personal relationships with anybody really.

Finally, and this is possibly a monkey’s paw-like request, it really could have been snarkier. Yes, yes, Scalzi gets stereotyped for only writing in a snarky tone based on his social media/blogging personality but in this case, he is literally writing a Bond-pastiche romp, more snark would not be out of place.

Like KPS, I don’t think this one merits a Hugo Award but I’ll probably be kinder to it in my voting than I was with KPS. Fun in lots of ways but essentially disposable.


37 responses to “Hugo 24: Starter Villain by John Scalzi”

  1. Scalzi’s SF is consistently good; I get all the jokes (I think); and it tends towards the length of a 1980s mmpb rather than a 1990s doorwedge. Accessible.

    Is it great? Not really, but there are very few writers who can pull off “great” as a career. I think that Redshirts came closest.

    Hugos are about popular recognition, and I’m only sad about a good book winning one if that means a great book lost to it.

    Consistently good is a win by itself.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Fair enough. I did like the exploration of what a supervillain’s business model is – disrupting things that work and gathering money from the wreckage (while jockeying for prestige among a self-selected group of fellow jerks). Might have been nice to dig deeper there, too.

    Liked by 2 people

      • Good point. One point that occurs to me in retrospect is that our hero ought/might have some difficulty slipping back into the mundane world – he now knows things about what’s behind the curtain (intelligent cats, etc., and a secret history of the current state of the world) that ought make him look at every days’ news thereafter with new eyes (the same applies to the hero in KPS, for that matter, it now occurs to me).

        Liked by 2 people

  3. Probably worth noting that IIRC Mr Scalzi wound up with COVID at least once during the writing timeline for this novel, so the deficiencies may be a straightforward consequence of post-COVID brain fog. 

    Liked by 1 person

    • Anything is possible but I didn’t feel like the story was poorly planned or was inconsistent. It does all fit together, I just feel he could have done a lot more with it. Of course, it could be that he intentionally made the novel simpler to avoid those kinds of issues.

      Having said that, The Last Emperox had a bit of an issue like that I felt. It felt like it should have been a bigger or deeper novel.

      Like

      • I feel like this a lot with Scalzi’s books. I enjoy reading them, but they feel hollow and leave very little long term impressions. All sizzle and no sausage they would say in the Australian vernacular.

        Like

  4. I feel like I should read it for the Hugo process but I’ve no great enthusiasm for it, even tho I did enjoy KPS ( and Redshirts even more so).

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Gail Simone did something similar in Secret Six: young guy discovers he’s inherited a crime cabal, tells his buddies they’re going to be rich, have girls dripping off them and shit, they’ll have an HQ in a live volcano, it’ll be awesome!

    Not so much as it turns out. Though they survive and would have fought another day, I imagine, if not for DC’s stupid New 52 reboot.

    “played longer with the possibility that he was escaping into a delusion/breakdown (and perhaps get that possibility ambiguous at the end)” Funny, that almost always makes me hate a book, from Lindholm’s Wizard of the Pigeons to the graphic novel Kingdom of the Wicked (“This book will be amazing unless it turns out what we’ve seen is all taking place inside his own brain … oh shit.”).

    Liked by 2 people

            • Fashion trends are cyclical, but I don’t think the 80s looks are in now.

              Once Mom and I were shopping for shoes and I said “Ugh, I hated these the last time around”, and she said, “So did I, and the time before that.” After a pause she said, “I remember your grandma hated them that time, and the time before THAT.”

              So one line of women who’d all known each other had been hating that shoe style for most of the 20th century.

              Liked by 2 people

                • I do too.

                  Also once in that period, a friend had come by to pick me up to go somewhere and I yelled “Hang on, I’m having a shoulder pad crisis!” Since we are nerds, she promptly asked if it was like a Bubblegum Crisis.

                  Cowboy boots existed long before “Dallas” and continue to. Many Southern women still have the big hair — “the higher the hair, the closer to God” as they say!

                  @Steven: plenty of boobies on “Dallas”. Also Bobby was famously shirtless when he reappeared, so you were in the right area.

                  Liked by 1 person

    • I thought the thing with Wizard of the Pigeons is that it is in fact both really happening AND the character has a mental illness, that the magic bits were better divided from the madness by the end. Of course, I haven’t read it for years and I could be getting it mixed up.

      Liked by 1 person

      • My impression by the end of the book was that everything got blurry and uncertain — but I admit I was only reading with half an eye. Endless poetic language about the Seattle streetscapes wore out its welcome — and “crazy homeless Vietnam veteran” is more of an annoying stereotype now than it was at the time the book came out.

        Liked by 1 person

  6. JS has considerable range as a writer. The God Engines convinced me of that. But if there were ever a time to heed the advice of one’s publisher’s backend team about what’s gonna fly, this is it. And as megpie71 noted: COVID!

    A fight against a Big Bad – corporate malfeasance, government repression, criminal conspiracy – can take place in one of two contexts, broadly speaking. In the first case, the entire world has pretty much gone down the gurgler, except for a lucky or ruthless few. The central character has aspirations, but these are rudely torn away, and more than ever they feel themselves part of a downtrodden underclass. The story revolves around the alliances they form, the compromises they make, the battle for (maybe Pyrrhic) victory, and whether justice was served.

    In the second scenario, the world is generally an okay place. The horrible setbacks are happening to the main character alone. There is no need to make common cause with fellow sufferers, because there aren’t any. The story revolves around alliances, compromises, etc. as above, but the stakes are limited to a smaller group of people. And this is the category that Starter Villain falls into.

    I agree with frasersherman that Unreliable Narrator is difficult to pull off successfully. It can work as a setup for a surprise ending, but there wasn’t one in this instance.

    Liked by 3 people

    • But Fraser Sherman wasn’t just talking about unreliable narrators. Many first person narrators are unreliable, miss key things going on in their own story, or lie or fudge as they go, without falling into the “Maybe he’s just having a break from reality” path.

      Liked by 4 people

        • The film “I Kill Giants” almost succeeds where the comic book source fails — in the movie there’s no suggestion the giants are real and it’s obvious the protagonist (who’s very well acted) Has Issues.

          It fails at the ends because we actually see her fight the giants — it’s obviously her perception but if she’s actually seeing the giants she’s not retreating into fantasy as a coping mechanism (Mom’s dying), she’s seriously delusional.

          Liked by 2 people

  7. Has Timothy no opinion about this book? In many ways, the entire novel is justification for some of his views. Or has he censored himself, because the truth would otherwise come out: that you’re nothing but a sock-muppet for a purple cat, a human allegedly living in so-called ‘Australia’. I will say that I have never met you face to face, and I’m beginning to suspect I never will. Suspicious, no?

    Liked by 3 people

    • I forget which one but there was a Puppy or puppy-adjacent author who was claiming that Scalzi stole his idea when KPS was published on the very thin basis that he’d also written a book with Kaiju in it. I’d considered letting Timothy write an equivalent post regarding Starter Villain but I was worried people wouldn’t get the reference.

      It would have also been a pretext for Timothy to also protest about how Clarkesworld’s submission guidelines are clearly intended to exlude anything Timothy might write as well as Timothy himself https://clarkesworldmagazine.com/submissions/

      Liked by 2 people

      • You have nailed what I thought of SV (and for that matter KPS). Both are fun but not IMO startling.

        But can I sue Scalzi coz the cat on the cover looks like mine? She has been acting mysteriously lately…

        Liked by 2 people

          • I can’t sue him because once he ordered me a Coke when I came into the bar at an event gasping and blowing from having to run across a big busy street in hot weather and could barely get “coke…” out. Gulped some of it, thanked him, said “hi John hi Mary Robinette” and sat down elsewhere.

            So I must be a minion since those two recognized me. I’m cabal-adjacent!

            (Which is not even to mention the 3-4 books of MRK’s I beta-read over the years, or last year when I went to an event of hers, passed on greetings from mutual friends, and asked her to say hi to Cora for me the next week at a con.)

            AFAIK the cat on the cover doesn’t look like any of his, though I must confess I’m not keeping up with the Scalzi family critters nowadays. I guess she was too dark for the cover, else I’d have half expected Ghlaghee.

            Liked by 2 people

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.