Susan’s Salon 21-22 April 2024


25 responses to “Susan’s Salon 21-22 April 2024”

    • Oh dear. Hope the replacement is as hassle-free as possible.

      (I’ll be looking at replacing the dishwasher, oven & cooktop soon. They are all over 20 years old & showing their age.)

      Liked by 2 people

    • This is where “oy vey gevalt” comes into play.

      Even when it’s delivered, you still gotta set it up, wait for it to get cold, fill it, and all that. Plus get rid of the old one. We had to do that about 20 years ago, and while it was a great improvement over the one which dated from the 70s, it was still a hassle.

      Liked by 2 people

      • The store has a deal where they haul away the old one, which is a blessing. My only other alternative was to haul it out the yard and hide it in the shed. 😀

        Liked by 2 people

  1. Spent Friday and part of Saturday at FantaSci con here in Durham. Would have spent longer but as I was staying at home, family/pet responsibilities trumped lounging about. Had a good time though. Met Henry Vogel, who wrote the indie Southern Knights comics of the 1980s.

    Just finished watching North by Northwest with TYG. Her first time. She enjoyed it (as well she should).

    Pet health is good, yay.

    Liked by 5 people

  2. The insurance guy came yesterday to take pictures of the kitchen and measure for the repairs, so hopefully I’ll be able to get that started soon.

    Moved some of my plants around. I managed to find another working (at least so far) humidifier at Goodwill’s, so I took some of the ferns out of the bathroom and put them in a north facing window with the humidifier nearby. I don’t think they were getting enough light in the bathroom; they were starting to look scraggly, so I hope this will help.

    Almost finished reading Vajra Chandrasekera’s The Saint of Bright Doors. It’s going to take a while to wrap my mind around this dense, unique narrative and world.

    Liked by 3 people

  3. Absolutely nothing’s changed here with me and EGG. Really, I didn’t get anything done this week. 😦 And of course he never gets things done except eating and sleeping.

    Although I did go out one afternoon to get one very small errand done, after which I realized I was just down the street from 7-11 and it was warm, so I bought myself a small Slurpee. Hadn’t had one in years. I savored the artificial flavor and color, and the pure corn syrup.

    Liked by 4 people

  4. I’m about two-fifths of the way through This Is How You Lose the Time War. For this, I have to be completely on my game and paying close attention. Failing that, I watch Netflix. Boy Swallows Universe. The Lobster. Glass. Ghostbusters: Afterlife. It may be awhile till I finish the book!

    The puddy cat has his follow up appointment this arvo, and I expect him to receive a clean bill of health. I knew he was back to normal when he left paw prints all over the cooktop one night.

    Liked by 4 people

    • It might just be my current mood but I have a similar experience with The Sunken Land Begins to Rise Again. I might switch to Velocity Weapon despite not wanting to start another trilogy right now.

      Fingers crossed for the kitteh.

      Like

        • Understand totally! And the vet is pleased with our furry boy’s recovery. However, the expectation that Casper will submit to daily oral hygiene, ie, having his 4 remaining teeth cleaned with a bit of J cloth/Chux wipe… just no. Ain’t gonna happen!

          Liked by 2 people

          • Plushie licks the toothpaste off the brush. That’s the best we can manage. Still if you’re making the effort, according to the vet, that puts you ahead of most dog owners.

            Like

            • If we’d adopted Casper soon after birth, and gotten him used to frequent dental checks (not to mention nail clipping), we’d be in with a chance! As it is, he still has 2 lower fangs and he’s not afraid to use ’em!

              Like

  5. A big chunk of the week was spent meeting up with our son and his girlfriend in Lubeck, Germany. Highlight of the trip, aside from the meeting up, was, no, not the marzipan museum with its life size tableau of obscure historical characters ( taking a bit out of them is frowned upon, apparently) but the Gunter Grass ‘haus’ which had a nicely curated but quite intense set of exhibits on his writing, his drawing, his sculptures and his dancing. And where I spotted a photo of the man playing thimble and washboard in what looks suspiciously like a 1950s skiffle group!

    (And yes they did tackle his membership of the Waffen SS as a teenager during the war, the revelation of which perhaps had less resonance for me as I didn’t see him as the Conscience of a Nation, just a really good writer.)

    Now we’re at Hamburg Airport, about to begin the tedious process of returning home.

    Liked by 3 people

      • Thanks! Hamburg Airport was ok, somewhere between Leeds/Bradford and Manchester in terms of size, facilities, ease of navigation etc. And the ‘exit’ officer was super-friendly which was a nice surprise (but maybe he was just happy to see us leave!).

        Liked by 1 person

  6. The last couple of weeks at work have been really super busy, but now I am halfway through a week off, which I have been enjoying immensely. So far it has involved a lot of spinning and pottering around antique shops and used bookstores up in the hills. I am just about to head off for a flu shot, however, so the rest of it may be a bit meh.

    I watched the first episode of the Fallout series, and it looked great, felt very true to the games, but was quite gruesomely violent, which is not really my cup of tea. Mr a watched the second half of Rebel Moon, but I feel exactly zero need to do so, so probably won’t.

    Liked by 1 person

      • Most people I know have done that… once.

        I’ll certainly try to do them separately again — my arm didn’t hurt any more with 2 together, but wow was I trashed and in bed for a few days. Was very glad I’d stocked up on frozen dinners before that, since staggering to the kitchen and shoving one in the microwave was about all the cooking I could handle.

        Like

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.