Hugo 2023: Best Dramatic Presentation Long Form

You’ve got to start somewhere and as an avowedly lazy person, BDP:Long is a handy place to start. I’ve (sort of) watched them all and also none of the finalists really care very much, so I’m not ruining anybody’s happy time basking in the glow of Hugo recognition. Even so, this isn’t a strict ranking and I may shift preferences over time.

I’ll start with two movies that I don’t think should be on the ballot.

Avatar: The Way of Water is visually great and I couldn’t finish it. I started watching it weeks ago and repeatedly lost interest. It singularly failed to hook me into the plot or even care. I’m really struggling to sum up what it was about the film that fell so flat for me. Perhaps it was the weak dialogue or the feeling that we were just recycling the same character conflict. I might try it again on a bigger screen where its obvious strengths will have more impact but while I love really visual films they need more than that to work.

Black Panther: Wakanda Forever is another aquatic movie. I did see this in a movie theatre and even then it was cursed with murky parts. This was a more interesting movie than Avatar and did have many touching moments. The death of Chadwick Boseman is woven into the story as the death of his character T’Challa and the genuine loss felt by his fellow actors is felt throughout. The inclusion of Namor as a kind of aquatic Mayan-like civilisation is an interesting idea which expands the concept of indigenous super-civilisations in the Marvel world. Unfortunately, this film really doesn’t hold together very well and the central conflict between Namor and Wakanda feels forced. The film is many things but “exceptional science fiction movie of 2022” isn’t one of them in my opinion.

The next two are both worthy contenders that I’d be happy to see win but not my top picks.

Severance from Apple’s streaming service is a bleak satire on work and identity that has a PKD feel to it by way of 1990’s critiques of officer culture. The premise is that selected workers for the company Lumen have their memories “severed” so that their home lives and work lives are completely independent. Severed workers cannot recall basic facts about their home selves and once they leave work they can’t recall what they did at work. Functionally, this means their working selves experience nothing but work. This is a what-the-heck-is-going-on mystery with nightmarish scenario held in check by workplace monotony. Good stuff.

Turning Red is an unusual Pixar movie that suffered from under-promotion by Disney. Set in 2002 in Toronto, I think this is the first film I’ve seen that looks at the early 2000’s through the lens of nostalgia. I’m way to old to feel nostalgia for the 2000’s which are still just yesterday in my head but given how big 1950’s nostalgia was in the 1970’s it is surprising there isn’t more of it. Either way this is a movie with far more depth than its sometimes fluffy red-panda protagonist implies. Teenage girl experiences the trials of growing up amidst the pressure of generational trauma and tradition. Genuinely enjoyable.

My top two favourites from the finalists.

Everything Everywhere All at Once has rightly received a huge amount of praise. Like a lot of 2021/22 shows/films it also engaged on the topic of mothers, daughters, generational trauma and tradition using the medium of science fiction and fantasy. If that topic got a lot of outings recently (see Turning Red above but also Encanto but also in shows like Russian Doll) Everything Everywhere All at Once took that central idea and turned it into something phantasmagorical by combining it with the other movie-trope of recent times, multiverses. I shan’t try to sum up this film as others have done it better but you’d be hard-pressed to find a film that combines so much together and yet somehow remains a coherent whole.

Nope is a film that remains stuck in my head and it is also one that I have a regular urge to rewatch. Jordan Peele merges Jaws and Close Encounters into a single movie that explores the gap in understanding between humans and wild animals. This has ended up being one of my all-time favourite films, to the extent that I don’t think I can objectively rank it. I just really, really like it.


16 responses to “Hugo 2023: Best Dramatic Presentation Long Form”

  1. “Everything Everywhere All at Once” is my pick. I loved it from the first time I saw it & was pleasantly surprised by its reach with audiences. I initially thought that such a quirky inventive movie would only have a niche audience, but I was so very wrong.

    “Avatar” is only the second movie I thought was worth paying to watch on Imax 3D. James Cameron knows his way around technology: the visuals are spectacular. And the movie looks a distillation of a career’s worth of interests. There is a lot of previous movies’ DNA, the water (“Abyss”, “Titanic”), military (“Aliens”) etc. But the movie itself meanders along.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Everything Everywhere and Nope were 2 of my own nominees. Turning Red and Serverance were both things I wanted to see but haven’t yet. Avatar 2 and Black Panther 2 were both sequels I didn’t really feel a need to see but now I suppose I will. So I imagine my final ballot is likely to shake out about the same.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I nominated “Turning Red” despite having been a teen 30 years before, and never being Chinese or a panda. Delightful.

    I finally watched EEAAO, um, last week. If the Chengdu locals have seen it, I guess the subtitles are all opposite! Watching it with pause and rewind is helpful after you’ve seen it all in one go. I may have teared up.

    I would watch more if I was voting. Must see BP2 sometime; DGAF about Avatar.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. For me, the further I got into “Severance,” the more of a sci-fi horror story it seemed. And the season finale, “The We We Are,” kept me on the edge of my seat all the way through. I nominated that episode, but I’m delighted the entire season got on the ballot.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. For me number one was easy (EEAaO), the rest is hard.
    I don’t hate Avatar 2 like many people seem to do. (A friend who watched it with me in the cinema gave it a 5+ only because the effects were good, for not Germans we have markes from 1-6, where 1 is the best)
    Severance was for me somethink that at the end of the season just started, I had problems at the beginning, but it got really interesting.
    This year the written works (from my reading now) are more my taste, than the Dramatic ones, but on the other hand, there is nothing where I say I hate this. For all Mankind in short is probably my last favorite nominee.

    Like

    • I don’t really get the love for For All Mankind either. There are so many good SFF shows out there and people have to nominate that?

      Not all that happy with the longform finalists either. I really, really don’t like Avatar and resent having to watch Severance, which I have zero interest in.

      Like

  6. Travis really liked Nope, so when we were at Universal Studios on his birthday a couple of months ago, he was very excited when the tram ride actually drove down the main street of “Jupiter’s Claim”–the actual set where the movie was filmed. (I was kind of jazzed too.) Afterwards, I bought him a Jupiter’s Claim T-shirt.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Well, now’s your chance, obviously. We aren’t going to be getting new fiction content for quite a while, except for movies that are already in the can or at least far along in post-production.

      Liked by 1 person

  7. I’m not a movie-goer, so I haven’t seen anything on that list. The only things I’m resistant to seeing is Nope, because I absolutely do not do horror, and EEAAO, because my brain took in all the hype and decided it was a vitamin movie. That is, it’s the kind of movie that’s supposed to be good for you: one that has Serious Meaning and will make you a Better Person. I avoid vitamin movies.

    I have friends insist that it’s a lot of fun, and I’m sure it is for them. My brain remains suspicious.

    Like

Blog at WordPress.com.