Hugo 24 Novellas: The Mimicking of Known Successes

Because I read this when it first came out but didn’t get around to writing a review, I thought I should re-read it for the Hugo reviews. Except I didn’t. And me not getting around to re-reading it completely stalled my attempt to review all of the novella finalists. But you didn’t come here to read excuses or sentences that start with “but”.

Above (or perhaps partly within) the clouds of Jupiter is a human colony. There survivors of the environmental collapse of Earth have made a new life in floating settlements joined by railways. Despite the circumstances, this is a society that has reached a degree of stability with infrastructure and higher education. However, much of the intellectual effort is devoted to the issue of a return to Earth and the work needed to stabilise humanity’s former home.

Pleiti is one such researcher and is also caught up in the academic life of a prestiguous university. However, her academic pursuits are interrupted by the reappearance of an old-flame, the brilliant (but self-absorbed) detective Mossa.

A Holmes/Watson murder mystery in an unusual setting is something I always find entertaining. Overall I enjoyed this and I liked the idea of the unusual setting. However, the story as a whole didn’t entirely work for me. Part of the issue here is the nature of human colony felt under-explained — that’s not always an issue for me with science fiction, there’s lots of really good sci-fi that lets the reader fill in the blanks and plenty of not-so-good sci-fi that gets bogged down in info dumps. However, part of a Holmesian mystery is that eye for detail and circumstance which defines how the underlying mystery is revealed. Yet I finished the story with a vague sense of the characters having moved around an empty movie set – the world didn’t feel real or lived in. That’s probably just the difficulty of conveying an original (and on the face of it) interesting setting within the limits of a novella.

Where the story worked much better was in the relationship dynamic between Mossa and Pleiti. The two are presented as much closer as intellectual equals (but with different interests) than the stereotype of Holmes/Watson and Mossa comes across more as a woman who struggles with relationships rather than just an arrogant arse. This really helps the story move above the template that pairing of personalities suggests.

I do enjoy Malka Older’s writing and while I had on balance positive reaction to this story, as whole it didn’t really grab me. As I am implied in the open paragraph, I wasn’t sure how to review it when I first read it and haven’t been sure how to review it since partly because I thought I’d end up with a review that would read oddly negative when I’d actually enjoyed what I had read.

There is a sequel and that adds another paradox. I assume if I read it, the setting would begin to feel more like a real place but the first story didn’t grab me sufficiently that I’ve the urge to read the sequel. I suspect this is a story where people’s mileage will vary enormously. I suspect I got focused on the background rather than the characters – like a diner at a restaurant looking at the plates rather than the meal.

,

24 responses to “Hugo 24 Novellas: The Mimicking of Known Successes”

  1. I had similar thoughts reading the second of Alex Bledsoe’s Tufa books. It resolves a couple of problems I had with the first book but does that make my assessment of the first book wrong? What if I’d stopped there?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I liked this one a bit more than you did, but I didn’t think it came close to Mammoths at the Gates or Rose/House.

    Like

  3. I liked this one, but agree with the complaints. I noted the one scene that exactly parallels a scene in a Doyle (the “mind-reading”). I’m happy to see the Watson-analogue portrayed as a near-equal, since Doyle often portrayed them that way, while adaptations often make Watson a fool

    Liked by 2 people

    • That was one thing “Elementary” did well — Joan Watson was as smart as Holmes and pushed back on his bad attitudes. And they both loved their pet turtle.

      (Also it didn’t disappear up its own ass like “Sherlock” did or think it was cleverer than it was. Plus it had 150 episodes!)

      Liked by 3 people

      • That was also true of the Granada television adaptations with Jeremy Brett and David Burke/Edward Hardwicke, which I would rank as the definitive version, but Elementary is far and away my favorite contemporary adaptation; Miller and Liu made a wonderful Holmes and Watson.

        Liked by 3 people

        • Yes, I watched the Brett version at the time, of course. Randomly caught one years later and was still pleased.

          But Elementary was fun. It knew what it was doing, didn’t have pretentions above “we are a weekly network TV show to entertain you and sell things” and still managed some fairly complicated things. Plus I coveted Liu’s wardrobe.

          Like

  4. I was massively distracted by the fact the background details don’t seem to make sense, from “why does Jupiter (never IDed as such in my copy, but it’s orbited by Io) not seem to have 2.5 g” to “how do you set up a railway system on a gas giant?” Not to mention “Why would you set up a railway on a gas giant?”

    At the risk of sounding like the coot I am, I’ve been bouncing off a lot of recent SF novels because I can’t make the setting cohere.

    Liked by 2 people

    • I haven’t read it, but reviews of it make me think “railroad?!” With the atmo and tectonic activity.

      If the cities are floating in the clouds, they must have artificial gravity else the people would be floating too, yes?

      Like

      • At some level in the clouds, a floating platform would have 1-gravity, but I haven’t bothered to figure out how high up in the Jupiter atmosphere that would be (nor how much oxygen there would be in Jupiter’s atmosphere at that altitude).

        Like

          • Pretty easy to work out. Gravity is inverse square so to reduce by 1/2.5, the distance from the centre of Jupiter to the distance at which something would feel 1 g is 1.6x the distance from the centre to the “surface”, which as we know is clouds. Gas giant and all that. So, 113,000 km from the centre of Jupiter or about 41,000 km above the clouds. Not too far short of the orbit of Metis (128,000 km).

            Liked by 3 people

        • Even at the top of the cloud layer, you would have to be moving at a large fraction of orbital velocity (~ 42 km/s) in order to reduce the effective gravity you experienced, which would result in enormous atmospheric friction.

          Jupiter’s atmosphere is composed largely of molecular hydrogen and helium; there’s no oxygen to speak of.

          Like

      • If they are floating rather than orbiting then the people would experience gravity like you do in a balloon but that takes us back to the question of how they are up there. [Note: this isn’t a big issue for me in general, I’m cool with their being unexplained things]

        Liked by 1 person

      • There are rings that circle the entire planet, with railroads following the rings and settlements built on platforms along the way. The inhabited platforms are clustered at one area, most of the rings are just there to keep everything balancing around the planet’s gravity. I think the details of how the whole rig is kept balanced around the planet is handwaved.

        In a way the rings and settlement are sort of like the early beginning of a Dyson sphere.

        Artificial gravity fits poorly with the general tech and resource level – there’s lots of both little and big hints that this is more a struggling outpost than a post-scarcity tech utopia.

        Like

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.