Currently Reading: Hugo Nnovvellettess

Quite simply I have no idea which of ‘l’ and ‘t’ gets doubled in the name of this type of shorter fiction. I never get it right and it never sticks in my head – even when transcribing the word. So I’m just going to double ALL the consonants until JJ has me assassinated*.

I cave up on the Castalia House Campbell nominee – its existance was just making me not read rather than perservere. I’ll grant that the wordsmithing was substantially better than the normal stuff from the kyrpto-facsist wing of SF publishing but…it just wasn’t funny to me. Now, humour is fickle, so I’m not saying it is inherently unfunny but it didn’t raise even a whimsical smile. Nor did it raise any laughs from the so-bad-it-is-funny direction either. So, Rabids have failed on an additional count this year: not even producing stuff that was enjoyable to mock for its incompotence.

So onto nnovvellettess, which offers some interesting treats!

*[not an easy word to spell either.]

2 comments

  1. greghullender

    One mnemonic I might suggest is that novelette is the opposite of novella, and novella only has one letter to double (the ‘l’) so novelette must have a double ‘t’.

    Someone at SFWA told me that he liked the fact that you could remember the order of the category names by the fact that the longer words are shorter works. So “short story” is the longest word but the smallest number of words. Then “novelette,” “novella,” and “novel.” So if there were a move to break novel into two parts (e.g. separate very long works from things in the 40-100k range) he wanted to use “epic” for the whoppers.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

