Is Paul Ryan a vampire, a ghoul or what?

ryanvampie

As a student of genre fiction, I’m often asked to identify potential monsters, diabolical entities or unearthly creatures. Some Americans may currently be wondering “Why does Paul Ryan look at me like he’s calculating how valuable my organs are?”

This is a good question. On the one hand is adherence to an outdated view of society may seem to imply that he is, perhaps ‘nosferatu’, strigoi, vrykolakas i.e. a vampire. An undead being who sees humanity as cattle and perhaps fears their growing numbers and technological progress.

On the other hand, Wikipedia informs me that a ghoul ‘ The creature also preys on young children, drinks blood, steals coins, and eats the dead, then taking the form of the person most recently eaten.’

Yet, sad to say, he is neither. He is human but just a really appalling person.

3 comments

  1. Cora

    I was about to say, “Well, whatever he is, he used to be married to a Borg”, but it turns out that Jeri Lynn Ryan a.k.a. Seven of Nine was married to a different creepy US politician named Ryan.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. KR

    On my playlist for today:

    “I don’t care if you live or die. Couldn’t care less if you laugh or cry. And I don’t mind if you crash or fly. I don’t mind at all. -Bob Geldof, “The Great Song of Indifference.”

    “I’m greedy and I’m angry and I don’t care who I cross……
    I like to have a good time and I don’t care who gets hurt…….
    Fourteen hours later I was down in Adelaide
    Looking through the want ads sipping Foster’s in the shade
    I opened up an agency somewhere down the line
    To hire aboriginals to work the opal mines
    But I attached their wages and took a whopping cut
    And whisked away their workman’s comp and pauperized the lot”
    -Warren Zevon, “Mr Bad Example”

    Liked by 1 person