Something is trapped in the spam filter :)

It’s grumpy and rightwing and oddly not Timothy. Poor old Phantom is still stuck there and still sending comments. I’m actually cool with letting him out again but…well we are back to the basic issue of actually making an argument.

Your deletion game doesn’t change reality, and it doesn’t bother me either. I know you read these.

Correct. I do read stuff in my spam filter. Correct. Reality isn’t changed by spam settings.

So Phantom, the offer still stands. Try to present an actual *argument* on the map you seem to think is fake or disproves global warming. Not a gish-gallop, not wandering around some thematic other arguments. You think something is wrong with a map then explain in your own words what it is and show you’ve done the basic research, maybe anticipate basic questions that will be asked and show you’ve made at least some attempt to verified basic claims of fact. You know, the stuff a 10-year-old would be expected to have done if they were making an argument.

After all, if your point is really that good putting some effort into articulating is an excellent idea. I don’t mind a long comment and if you are worried that I might delete then just copy it before you post. Gosh! Think about the service you’ll do for humanity – relieving us all of the worry & angst about global warming!

No seriously, I’d love to have an actual argument about it but I’ve got zero interest in somebody who just changes the subject.

In the meantime back to the spam filter:

Hello Web Admin, I noticed that your On-Page SEO is is missing a few factors, for one you do not use all three H tags in your post, also I notice that you are not using bold or italics properly in your SEO optimization. On-Page SEO means more now than ever since the new Google update: Panda. No longer are backlinks and simply pinging or sending out a RSS feed the key to getting Google PageRank or Alexa Rankings, You now NEED On-Page SEO. So what is good On-Page SEO?First your keyword must appear in the title.Then it must appear in the URL.You have to optimize your keyword and make sure that it has a nice keyword density of 3-5% in your article with relevant LSI (Latent Semantic Indexing). Then you should spread all H1,H2,H3 tags in your article.Your Keyword should appear in your first paragraph and in the last sentence of the page. You should have relevant usage of Bold and italics of your keyword.

That’s your longer kind of non-Phantom spam (and that’s only part of it). These SEO spams are always very concerned that I’m not using bold and italics properly. At the other end of the scale was this one:

3. Juice wheatgrass.

That’s all it said. Linked, though, to some sort of online shop. I wonder if the wheatgrass spammer can explain why global warming isn’t real?

13 comments

  1. JJ

    Eh, I did a lot of SEO work on websites 10-15 years ago. I’m hopelessly not up on the state-of-the-art for Google optimization today — but they did not consider bold and italics in their Page Rank algorithm back then, and I am pretty damn certain that they don’t now, either. Which makes me think that your spammer doesn’t really know what they are doing with regard to SEO.

    Like

  2. delagar

    While I am all for free speech, I kind of like phantom stuck in the spam filter. There’s only so much amusement to be had out of poking the militantly ignorant.

    Like

  3. Mark

    I approve of both the decision to pause Phantom’s contributions until he meets the basics, and (as much as I sigh inside) the offer to let him back out if he makes a reasonable effort. Sometimes I don’t know why I think fairness is important, but apparently I do.

    Also: today I learned you can juice wheatgrass, so there’s that.

    Like

    • KasaObake

      You can, but I honestly wouldn’t recommend it. It’s supposed to be healthy but surely healthy things shouldn’t taste like that. Usually it goes into some other juice or smoothie and ruins it. Same with spirulina.

      Like

      • KasaObake

        The taste is roughly similar, to be honest. I will generally try anything at least once, but I’ll never ruin another perfectly pleasant juice with either of those evil things, even if the claimed health benefits turn out to be real. (I suspect not)

        Anyway onto less important things: I’m sure Phantom is perfectly happy in the spam filter, where he can shout at clouds to his heart’s content.

        Like

  4. supplanter

    I stopped checking comment threads here for a long while because I didn’t realize Phantom had been trapped in some sort of Zone. The problem was not just his Gish Gallops; it was that as soon as he appeared in a thread, his presence became the dominating factor, because everyone felt the need to tell Phanton What They Thought About Him. And he tended to appear almost immediately. The combination of Phantom’s toxicity and his uncanny ability to shift the entire focus of conversation to what he thought about things ruined the site for me. It is better that he stays gone.

    Like

Leave a Reply

