Hugo Choices 10: Best Fan Artist

Previously on Hugo Choices:

Current Hugo State of Play

Hugo Choices 1: Best Novel

Hugo Choices 2: Best Related Work – The Story of Moira Greyland

Hugo Choices 3: Best Dramatic Presentation – Long Form

Hugo Choices 4: Best Short Story

Hugo Choices 5: Best Fanzine

Hugo Choices 6: Best Fan Writer

Hugo Choices 7: Best Editor – Long Form

Hugo Choices 8: Best Semiprozine

Hugo Choice 9: Best Graphic Story

Best Fan Artist

The choices are:

  • BEST FAN ARTIST : Matthew Callahan. Uses photography and digital effects to create realistic war scenes of Imperial Stormtroopers using models. Clever take on war photojournalism.

http://www.callahanvisual.com/galacticwarfighters/zl8qd59i0iczlgvsm79u4rfqnxxa7q

  • BEST FAN ARTIST : disse86. Mainly fantasy and comic book studies of faces. Effective and well done.

http://disse86.deviantart.com/

  • BEST FAN ARTIST : Kukuruyo. Samey manga-ish stuff. Appears to have been nominated solely on the basis of his unfunny GamerGate comic strip.
  • BEST FAN ARTIST : Christian Quinot. Moody sci-fi and fantasy art. All good stuff.

http://darkcloud013.deviantart.com/gallery/

  • BEST FAN ARTIST : Steve Stiles. Veteran fanzine cartoonist with a 70s/80s style. Fun.

http://efanzines.com/File770/File770-165.pdf

A tricky one to rank. The most similar are disse86 and Christian Quinot. Least good is Kukuruyo. Callahan and Stiles are producing work that doesn’t make sense to compare one with the other.

1,2,3,4. Stiles, Quinot, disse86, Callahan

5. No Award

6. Kukuruyo

 

7 comments

  1. JJ

    I don’t find the work by any of the nominees particularly compelling. I still haven’t decided how — or even if — I’m going to rank them. Given the wealth of really good fan art that’s out there, I’m amazed (or maybe I’m not) that this is the best the slaters could come up with for this category. 😐

    Like

  2. Mark

    Callaghan – very clever idea, but I guess I found it a bit one note? Seen one moody stormtrooper portrait, seen them all? He’s very talented though, and I’d encountered his work prior to his nomination.
    Disse86 – definitely a good artist, but I wasn’t a fan of his horror-tinged stuff. I liked this one though: http://disse86.deviantart.com/art/The-Swedish-Kattegat-Dragon-527931873
    Kukuruyo – competent, but hardly stands out from the horde of manga-inspired artists out there. Competent isn’t award-worthy though.
    Quinot – compared to Disse86, I preferred his subject matter but didn’t think he was as talented. This was pretty good: http://darkcloud013.deviantart.com/art/Shaman-529073722
    Stiles – really not to my taste, but undoubtedly talented.

    I guess the only one I’d say could never have got an honest nomination is Kukuruyo, so he goes below No Award. The rest are a diffuse cloud that I can’t really decide on yet.

    Like

  3. Lurkertype

    I nominated Stiles (along with a bunch more talented people), so he gets my #1. The sleazebag doesn’t even get mentioned below NA on my ballot. Callahan’s one-note, but good at it. I haven’t decided my 2, 3, 4 either.

    Like

  4. Pingback: Hugo Choices 11: Novelletes in handy bite sized pieces | Camestros Felapton
  5. Pingback: Hugo Choices 12: Novella | Camestros Felapton
  6. Pingback: Hugo Choices 13: Everything else | Camestros Felapton

Leave a Reply

