Hugo Choices 1: Best Novel

I’m going to go through as many categories as I can and/or have something meaningful to say. The order will be by which-category-is-easiest to make a decision about. First off the rank will be Best Novel (for good reasons) and next will probably be Best Related Work (for not so good reasons). I’ll try and indicate one category ahead what will be next. I’m starting early because this is going to take some time and in some categories I’ve already read/watched all the entries. Obviously these are just how I’m thinking at the moment.

Best Novel

For all the doom-and-gloom because of the Rabid Griefing, the selection for Best Novel is excellent. 2015 had some great choices but many only got on after other people withdrew (three cheers again to Marko Kloos). 2016 is an embarrassment of riches.

My choices:

  1. The Fifth Season. Given what I‘ve already said about it, this shouldn’t be a surprise. Despite tough competition, this is head-and-shoulders above the rest.
  2. Seveneves. A very flawed novel but also an exciting and ambitious one. The flaws are very deep – some weak characterization, a end that fizzles, sections that are more like sketches of a novel, infodumps and some wild science speculation. However, it is a novel that brims with ideas and it pulls a long a story with some genuine human depth. For the amount of debate and discussion it engendered alone it is worthy of an award. My review is here.
  3. Ancillary Mercy. Zoiks! I can’t believe I’m putting this at number 3. I probably will change my mind at some point and then change it back again. If Ancillary Justice hadn’t won a Hugo then we’d be looking at this as the closing book of the trilogy – in which case The Fifth Season would have real competition. As a whole series the Radch Trilogy is incredible. By itself, Ancillary Mercy is very, very good and a worthy winner in itself but…I’ve got to put it third.
  4. Uprooted. Something has to be fourth! Fun, clever and a different spin on fairy-tale and fantasy tropes. I did like this book but it isn’t close to being as good as the first three.
  5. The Cinder Spires: The Aeronauts Windlass. The most obviously Puppy flavored entry into the list. So much better than Jim Butcher’s entry last year – the weak Dresden Files volume Skin Game. This is a genuinely fun read. Swashbuckling adventure in a steampunkish/JPRGish world of magic crystals and airships, with bonus talking cats. The real issue was whether this book should go below No Award…
  6. No Award. I don’t get six votes but the fifth choice competition was between Windlass and No Award. My feelings were two-fold: (1) I liked Windlass, it was clever and fun and original and (2) it probably needed Puppy votes to get on the ballot but it didn’t need a Puppy slate to get on the ballot. Yes, probably without the various people joining up over the past few years of Puppy campaigns, it wouldn’t have made the ballot but the objection to the Puppies was the tactics and poisonous campaigning not the voters.
  7. Comparison work: last year I listed comparison works to help judge the relative quality. In this category my favorite novel NOT nominated was Ian Tregillis’s The Mechanical. I love the book and its sequel but the books above are either better or within striking distance of being as good. The Cinder Spires falls below in so far as it lacks the same depth as The Mechanical but not so far as to push me back to No Award.

I really think this is an impressive set of novels, even Jim Butcher’s. Presented as a short reading list of what is going on in SFF novels currently, it works very well.

Next time: a category with one and a half contenders – Best Related Work.

17 comments

  1. Mark

    I haven’t read Seveneves or Aeronaut’s Windlass yet (I’m hoping for some packet-related goodness but possibly in vain). I’m probably at Fifth Season, Uprooted, Ancillary right, but that is very subject to change.

    Like

  2. Lurkertype

    I’m likely at Fifth Season, Ancillary, Uprooted, and NA. Uprooted wasn’t even the best B&TB retelling I read last year (Wombat’s was).

    I’d like to hear what’s in the packet. We know File 770 turned in some good stuff, and the Teddy Boys will be sure to shovel their shit in, but will we get Seveneves? Butcher, probably yes. I’ve already read all the non-slated shorter works, and in any case, “Cat Pictures Please” was always going to be my number one.

    Like

  3. Pingback: Hugo Choices 3: Best Dramatic Presentation – Long Form | Camestros Felapton
  4. Pingback: Hugo Choices 4: Best Short Story | Camestros Felapton
  5. Pingback: Hugo Choices 5: Best Fanzine | Camestros Felapton
  6. iamzenu

    Windlass is not my best Butcher flavor, but it is nice to see Jim above no award. Jim is a genuinely nice guy and I hated to see him dragged into this puppy mess. I liked Skin Game fine, but it was 15 in a series. It doesn’t work as a stand alone.

    Like

    • camestrosfelapton

      I found Skin Game boring to be honest but I’m not familiar with the series and hence wasn’t terribly invested in the characters.
      Windlass felt much more alive and ticked a lot of my boxes (including the superficial ones of airships and talking cats!)

      Like

  7. iamzenu

    Entering at book 15 is somewhat like being on vacation and sitting down to watch a soap. The puppies did Butcher no favors for putting that on the list.

    Glad you liked Windlass. I don’t think steampunk is for me although I am with you on the talking cats.

    Like

  8. Pingback: Hugo Choices 7: Best Editor – Long Form aka Hell’s Own Category | Camestros Felapton
  9. Pingback: Hugo Choices 8: Best Semiprozine – Sci-Phi beats No Award | Camestros Felapton
  10. Pingback: Hugo Choices 9: Best Graphic Story | Camestros Felapton
  11. Pingback: Hugo Choices 10: Best Fan Artist | Camestros Felapton
  12. Pingback: Hugo Choices 11: Novelletes in handy bite sized pieces | Camestros Felapton
  13. Pingback: Hugo Choices 12: Novella | Camestros Felapton
  14. Pingback: 2016 Hugo Finalist Review Roundup | File 770
  15. Pingback: Hugo Choices 13: Everything else | Camestros Felapton
  16. Pingback: Hugo Choices 6: Best Fan Writer | Camestros Felapton

Leave a Reply

